Correct wire sizing

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-06-15, 08:52 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 31
Correct wire sizing

Hello, I am trying to determine the correct size wiring and breaker size for my project, I will be making a run straight from my breaker box 150' away, to the end of my yard now there will also be 2 receptacles in the run, one at 40' and other at 70', for now all this will be powering is the receptacles and a light pole with 4 led lights on it but I want to plan ahead so eventually i will be adding lighting and receptacles to power multiple electronics like a stereo, tv, ect, on a patio, and low voltage landscape lighting, i will also have a pool pump but I'm pretty sure that will have to be on its own circuit, thank you for your direction and help
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-06-15, 09:15 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,515
The pool will need a separate circuit, in conduit, 24" deep. Knowing that this project is coming up, I'd go ahead and install the conduit now while you're digging. Run two 3/4" PVC conduits side by side at 24" deep. One to the pool, one to the receptacle / lighting locations. Note that any other electrical receptacles or lights must be at least 10' from the pool location. You should pull #12 THWN wires in the conduits, green, black, white with 20A breakers.
 
  #3  
Old 10-06-15, 09:18 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,588
You could also look at installing a 50 amp subpanel close to the pool location and feed the receptacles from there.
 
  #4  
Old 10-06-15, 10:09 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 31
So #12 thwn will be enough? When I use those online calculators it's telling me it will need at least #6 which would get very $$$,

also I like the idea on a sub panel, will #12 work for this as well?
I just don't know where I would put it because as of right now this part of my yard is just a open space with dirt
 
  #5  
Old 10-06-15, 10:21 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,588
The #12 for a subpanel does not make sense. It limits you to 20 amps and offers no advantage over a dedicated circuit.

Voltage drop depends on the actual load, not the circuit size.
 
  #6  
Old 10-06-15, 11:00 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 31
Got it, so #6 to the sub panel and then go from there, am I wrong by assuming that will allow for a ton of room for expansion? It seems like a lot of power going out there for a pump and lights
 
  #7  
Old 10-06-15, 11:04 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,052
am I wrong by assuming that will allow for a ton of room for expansion?
Once up on a time a whole house would be on a 60a service.
 
  #8  
Old 10-06-15, 11:46 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,515
Yes a 60A panel would leave a lot of room for expansion, which gives you all sorts of options for the future. A panel can be mounted on a treated post like a 4x6. The minimum you need is a 20A circuit for the pool and a 15A circuit for the lights. Anywhere in between is up to how much you want to spend vs. room for expansion.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes