below grade UF-B no pipe

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-07-15, 08:21 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada, Quebec
Posts: 1,185
below grade UF-B no pipe

There a re 4 UF-B wires coming from the panel that go into a hole in the cement (plugged with filler or silicone).
I think these come out of the house underground as there are no PVC pipes outside above grade and no conduit junction boxes.
Furthermore, one of these UF-B cables was pulled up by a landscaper digging a while back.

I have to rebury this UF-B cable but it's near the surface now - how deep do I have to bury the cable? I am also worried about digging deeper as I might hit the others. I think some of the cable are in pipe but there's no way of knowing.
Can I just bury it in 6 inches or so of dirt? It will be in the frost zone.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-07-15, 08:37 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,659
how deep do I have to bury the cable?
24 inches. 6 inches is not code compliant.
 
  #3  
Old 10-07-15, 08:43 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,295
You can do 12" deep if the circuits have GFCI breakers, otherwise 24" as Ray said.
 
  #4  
Old 10-07-15, 08:59 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada, Quebec
Posts: 1,185
There's no way it's 24" now and to try and put it back down to that depth might be difficult let alone the fact that I might dig into the other cables wherever they are.

There are no GFCI breakers. Out of interest, what difference does that make...the depth to whether it has GFCI or not?
 
  #5  
Old 10-07-15, 09:01 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,295
It won't kill someone who chops it with a garden tool.
 
  #6  
Old 10-07-15, 09:33 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada, Quebec
Posts: 1,185
What about if I chop one of the 3 cables below it trying to bury it deeper
 
  #7  
Old 10-07-15, 09:43 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,659
Dig carefully. Where you rebury it place a treated ix4 on top with caution tape stapled to the top of the 1x4.
 
  #8  
Old 10-07-15, 09:53 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada, Quebec
Posts: 1,185
...deleted....................................
 

Last edited by qwertyjjj; 10-07-15 at 10:15 AM.
  #9  
Old 10-07-15, 10:30 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada, Quebec
Posts: 1,185
Just remembered, there is also a big rock in front of the wire that can only be lifted by a machine (the guys who put it there and discovered the cable in the first place)
... so I can't even dig in that section.
Best just cover the wire with treated wood and rebury the 3 inches or so that I can access?
 
  #10  
Old 10-07-15, 10:39 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,295
There is also a yellow & red caution tape "ELECTRIC LINE BURIED BELOW" you should lay in the trench about halfway down the trench so hopefully you know where to stop digging.
 
  #11  
Old 10-08-15, 08:15 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada, Quebec
Posts: 1,185
I can't dig in that section now though due to this big rock.
The wire is right up against the house basement concrete that goes below grade.
Would it be best to just lay a section of square wood/plastic over the top of it and bury it as far as I can...about 3 inches or so? Obviously it's not code but short of moving the rock with a machine, digging, re-burying, and putting it back, there's not much else I can do.
 
  #12  
Old 10-08-15, 08:31 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,295
It certainly sounds better than nothing, but code doesn't make a distinction between 1" deep and 23.5" deep. It's 24" or nothing. I still think it's a good idea to use the caution tape.
 
  #13  
Old 10-08-15, 10:38 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,659
By turning off associated breakers can you determine what the cables go to?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'