Wiring new sub panel in garage

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-14-15, 01:21 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 7
Wiring new sub panel in garage

I want to put a 60 amp panel in my garage. The garage is 50 feet from my house. I have a new 100 amp panel to use. Can I use 6/3 wiring from my main panel (200 amp) with a 60 amp breaker to supply power to the 100 amp panel. I do not want to run 2 2 2 4 for power. To expansive plus I will NEVER need 100 amps of power. Only want 2 lights and two receptacles in my garage and a pool filter. Will this be ok.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-14-15, 02:15 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,515
Yes you can. The #6-3/g UF-B cable should be buried 24" deep, and should have conduit sleeves entering and exiting the trench. If the panel in the garage has more than 6 spaces, it requires a main breaker.
 
  #3  
Old 10-14-15, 03:26 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,097
For a garage that will be used as a workshop or as a pool pump house 60 amps (6 gauge feed) is a good choice although sometimes 40 amps (8 gauge feed) will do.

Garages can be fed with as little as 15 amps (14 gauge feed) although many homeowners outgrow that and then regret putting in such a small feed.
 
  #4  
Old 10-14-15, 05:50 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 4,237
Should be fine.
Dozens of times I've had the deal with customers with under powered garages. Twice it was a three bay garage and they wanted one outlet and only one light.
They cheap out then at some point someone wants to add, welder, more lights, more outlets, A/C, 240 power tools, garage door opener Ect. then it's back to a total do over.
 
  #5  
Old 10-14-15, 06:46 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 7
Thank you all. I did run 1 1/2 schedule 40 under ground at 30" just in case I would want to pull a larger wire for more power but I doubt I will ever need it. One more question. Would I be able to run plastic well pipe in the same trench as the conduit. Was debating to in case I would want water for a garden hose or a slop sink in the garage.
 
  #6  
Old 10-14-15, 07:22 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,052
If it will be below the frost line, yes, you may use the same trench.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes