Wiring Diagram for 20A GFI Outlet with Switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-15-15, 08:52 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: US
Posts: 19
Wiring Diagram for 20A GFI Outlet with Switch

Could someone send me a link to a wiring diagram for a 20A GFI outlet with switch? I will be installing a covered outlet under my soffit for a heat cable. I would like to have a switch, in my garage, with a small light so I know when the switch is on.

Items:
Southwire 12-3 NM-B W/G
GE 20-Amp Backyard Outlet with GFI Receptacle
Leviton 1223-PLC 20-Amp Switch

My goal is to run the cable as follows:

- THHN 12-3 NM-B W/G cable from panel/breaker in EMT to box with a switch;
- same cable from box in EMT to other side of garage;
- punch through garage ceiling into guest bedroom closet WALL;
- up through closet wall into attic
- drill through side of house where exterior box will mount; and,
- free run cable in attic, through hole in side of house, into box & outlet.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-15-15, 10:09 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,646
THHN 12-3 NM-B W/G cable from panel/breaker in EMT to box with a switch
THHN in residential use is individual wires not cable. It is for inside use only. NM cable is for dry areas only. Even six inches in conduit on the side of a building is a wet location and NM cable can not be used. You would need to use UF cable. If however you enter the box from the back or it is recessed into the soffit you can use NM cable. Just not sure from your description.

GFCIs must remain accessible. If the height will be more than 6'7" then the GFCI needs to be at the switch.

The switch you linked to is a 3-way you need a standard SPST switch with a pilot light.

My suggestion to keep things low price and work with easy to find parts would be a standard 20 amp non lighted switch and a GFCI receptacle in a double gang box at the garage. A night light plugged into the GFCI receptacle. That would feed a non GFCI receptacle at the eaves.

Name:  x.jpg
Views: 11092
Size:  23.6 KB
 

Last edited by ray2047; 10-15-15 at 12:35 PM.
  #3  
Old 10-15-15, 12:37 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: US
Posts: 19
The boxes I've been looking at have knockouts in the back of the box. The house has vinyl siding. I was going to cut the vinyl siding just enough to slip the box in and screw it to the side of the house. Would this allow the THHN to be run directly to the box? If not, I can use a junction box in the attic. I was just hoping for a straight pull.

Hubbell Bell 5320-0 Single Gang 3-1/2-Inch Outlets Weatherproof Box

Taymac MM510G Weatherproof Single Outlet Cover

Universal in Use Cover TRWR-S355E
 
  #4  
Old 10-15-15, 01:33 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,646
If the siding is vinyl you could use something like this: http://www.amazon.com/Arlington-Indu...0_SR108%2C160_
 
  #5  
Old 10-15-15, 03:14 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: US
Posts: 19
Beautiful! Nice find, Ray! =)

Now I just need to determine if using this box, since it has a rear entry, would allow me to run THHN direct to the box without having to switch to a different cable type.
 
  #6  
Old 10-15-15, 03:36 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,357
THHN needs to be run in conduit.
 
  #7  
Old 10-15-15, 04:50 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,646
Now I just need to determine if using this box, since it has a rear entry, would allow me to run THHN direct to the box without having to switch to a different cable type
THHN is not cable. It is individual wires. You need to use NM-b cable.
 
  #8  
Old 10-15-15, 07:56 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: US
Posts: 19
Thanks for clarifying. So, if I went with 12-3 NM-B W/G cable, I COULD run free within the attic, THROUGH the wall of the house, and into the back of the box for the receptacle?

This is the cable I would like to use... from the panel to the switch...

Southwire 12-3 NM-B W/G (By-the-Foot)-63947699 - The Home Depot
 
  #9  
Old 10-15-15, 08:33 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,646
Sorry I haven't yet discussed all the items in the parts list of your first post. I was concentrating on one at a time to keep it simple.

You do not need 12-3. You only need 12-2 (or maybe 14-2). Take a quick look at my diagram and you will see it only uses 12-2. Southwire 12-2 NM-B W/G (By-the-Foot)-28828299 - The Home Depot

What is the amp rating of the heat cable? If it is less than 12 amps you only need a 15 amp breaker and 14-2. Regardless of whether you run 20 amps or 15 amps you only need a 15 amp GFCI not a 20 amp. The receptacle under the eve will also only need to be 15 amp. I doubt you need a 20 amp switch.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 10-15-15 at 09:05 PM.
  #10  
Old 10-16-15, 07:32 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: US
Posts: 19
My reason for running 12-3 cable was to allow the cable to be reused at some point in the future. Not a good idea? Would the extra conductors cause a problem for anyone?
 
  #11  
Old 10-16-15, 08:32 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,646
My reason for running 12-3 cable was to allow the cable to be reused at some point in the future.
For what? Extra conductor isn't a problem but it just means your paying more.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'