2 wires, 1 screw and missing fastening bracket?


  #1  
Old 10-16-15, 01:05 PM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 33
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
2 wires, 1 screw and missing fastening bracket?

Greetings again,

Found some more unknowns today... just need a confirm on my fix for item 1 and an answer for item 2.

1st item:

Single pole light switch, using a 3 way switch but .... there are 3 blacks, two of which are under one screw! Is this crazy? (image 1)

image1:
Name:  2wires1screw.jpg
Views: 324
Size:  19.9 KB

We have 3 blacks in this image, 2 under the screw and one backstabbed.

Just need a confirmation on my fix (image 2)

Wire nut bundle with new lead to light switch.
image2:
Name:  bundlefix.jpg
Views: 287
Size:  22.5 KB


2nd item is a question:

Seems this power receptacle box, has no fastening bracket? its just loose, can this be normal? House was built in 1981, or is this a code violation? (image 3)

the outlet box is metal if that matters.

image3:
Name:  nobracket.jpg
Views: 276
Size:  18.5 KB


Thanks again!
 
  #2  
Old 10-16-15, 01:39 PM
C
Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,186
Received 24 Votes on 21 Posts
Your first fix looks good.

There should be a romex clamp fitting in the metal box. No easy fix other than cutting the box out, installing the fitting, and replacing...or swap in a plastic old work box.
 
  #3  
Old 10-16-15, 01:55 PM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 33
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks Carbide. I'll add another item to the list where i'll get a professional to do the job.
 
  #4  
Old 10-16-15, 02:16 PM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,941
Received 45 Votes on 43 Posts
How about a push-in plastic romex clamp?

[ATTACH=CONFIG]57476[/ATTACH]
 
Attached Images  
  #5  
Old 10-16-15, 03:31 PM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 33
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hey thats an idea, there is plenty of room to manuever in that box.
 
  #6  
Old 10-16-15, 05:22 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,078
Received 2,955 Votes on 2,666 Posts
That looks like a utility box. Those can only be fastened in the back. Do you see any screw in the back of the box ? Also... be careful of the length of the device screw as it can hit the connector or the wire.

Name:  nobracket.jpg
Views: 173
Size:  27.2 KB
 
  #7  
Old 10-16-15, 06:18 PM
C
Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,186
Received 24 Votes on 21 Posts
Don't those have to be pushed in from the outside? Although I guess it would at least provide insulation.
 
  #8  
Old 10-16-15, 10:10 PM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 33
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I ran out of time today in that room, i have some more outlets to do, wouldnt be surprised if i find more of the same, ill take a look for a screw in the box then. Im not to the confidence level of pulling the box out and putting in a bracket. So I dont know about that, but if there is a screw id expect it be easier for a pro. Than cutting drywall.

So wierd these two rooms downstairs, all the outlets are upside down.


So are plastic boxes screwed in from the sides? Metal boxes from the back?
 
  #9  
Old 10-17-15, 06:05 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Received 15 Votes on 13 Posts
So wierd these two rooms downstairs, all the outlets are upside down.
Not true. Receptacles have no top or bottom or left or right. They can be installed with the ground on the top or the bottom. They can be installed horizontally with the neutral on top or the bottom.

The boxes you have though are not being used for their intended purpose. They are not wrong but they just really are not intended to be mounted that way so the person putting them in had to improvise.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: