Installing Sub Box/Running Power

Old 10-18-15, 09:40 AM
Installing Sub Box/Running Power

To start off, I am not an electrician, hence why I am asking everyone here. I enjoy learning and electricity isn't completely foreign but don't know enough to get my job done without help.

I just had a 30x30 shop build about 150ft from my house. I just installed a sub box in the shop.

4 outlets, and thinking of installing 6-8 8ft light fixtures.
items to be used in shop
110v mig welder
air compressor SPEEDAIRE 2 HP, 30 gal. Horizontal Splash Lubricated Tank Mounted Electric Air Compressor, CFM: 4.9 - Stationary Electric Air Compressors - 4B234|4B234 - Grainger Industrial Supply
In the next few months I will be installing a car lift so I will need 220 for it.
3 HP 220V +/- 5% (209-231volts) single (1) phase. A 30 amp breaker is required.
Basic tools usually found in shops.

Now here is what I am thinking will work "not sure if it will". Suggestions Appreciated
(3) #6 stranded common/powers
(1)#10 Stranded ground

What size conduit should I use? What kind of conduit? How deep to burry? It is a clear straight shop from the back of the Main Box to my shop. Cleared Back yard.

Sponsored Links
Old 10-18-15, 09:57 AM
Group Moderator
Welcome to the forums.

Based on #6 THWN copper wiring you would end with a 60A subpanel. You would use a 2P60 breaker in your main panel. You could use 3/4" PVC to run that line but it may be tight. I would recommend 1" PVC conduit buried 18" below the surface.

Old 10-18-15, 10:25 AM
Group Moderator
You should use at least a 12 space (20 might be better) 100 amp main breaker panel for your 60 amp subpanel. That way the 100 main breaker serves as your code required disconnect and you have space for several circuits. You will need to add a ground bar to the sub panel and need a ground rod at the shop. Ground rod id connected with #6.

Old 10-18-15, 07:06 PM