Shop Power Strips Daisy Chain

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-18-15, 09:42 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Shop Power Strips Daisy Chain

Hello,

I'm new to these forums. After quite a while of searching for an answer to a specific question I can't seem to find a question similar to mine anywhere on the internet. I was hoping the kind folks on this site could provide assistance. I know as a general rule you do not daisy chain power strips that multiple devices are using. I became unsure when you would only be using one device at a time.

My situation is: I have a wood shop in the making, but a total lack of wall outlets. I have a long bench with different machinery all along it and a wall outlet at the very end. I was thinking on running one power strip to the left side of the table and plugging another power strip into the last slot of the first power strip to provide power to the machinery on the far side of the table. Obviously I would never have more than one of these machines operating at any one time.

Would this be safe to do?

Thank you for your time and thoughts!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-18-15, 10:32 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,633
Power strips are really extension cords. Extension cords are for temporary use. Install as many receptacles as you need. You could also use hard wired Plugmold. Long surface mount receptacle strips.
 
  #3  
Old 10-18-15, 10:34 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 563
Well what you are proposing to do is not totally unsafe to do it's definitely not a recommended practice for multiple reasons. But something like this: Shop Wiremold 10-Outlet Metal Power Strip Built-in Circuit Breaker at Lowes.com fit your needs? They actually make the letter much longer than this one also. It would certainly be a much better solution, look cleaner and be much safer especially since it has a built in circuit breaker
 
  #4  
Old 10-18-15, 12:48 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Thank you kindly for the replies. I had considered that idea Msradell. It's between getting one of those or just installing a new wall outlet for a permanent solution. The other idea just crossed my mind because I already had all the materials to make it happen, then I couldn't necessarily think of why it was necessarily dangerous if I didn't run anything at the same time and I didn't run anything high powered off of the second power strip.

Thank you again for your thoughts and insight.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'