Replace Bathroom Combination Switch - OLD wiring question

Old 10-18-15, 12:51 PM
Replace Bathroom Combination Switch - OLD wiring question

Appreciate any advice, guys. I'm not an electrician but have learned a bit around the house and from my old man.

The bathroom was probably wired in the 1950's. It has a light switch with electrical outlet (combined switch, I believe it's called). The light is somewhat jumpy and wanted to switch it out.

Pictures posted of both sides. It's got a White, Black, and Brown (what I'm calling the wire on the bottom left). There's a ground screw but nothing attached, though it does appear there is a ground wire all the way at the back of the box though not long enough to reach the switch.

I initially wanted a ground wire because this is for the kid's bathroom and I was worried about shock not having a ground. I then decided to get a GFCI (also pictured from the back) from Pass & Seymour.

I'm admittedly confused by the diagram, and wanted to know if I could just connect the White and Black appropriately to the LINE of the GFCI, and to ask which LOAD terminal I should load (I'm guessing Black)? Also, if I do this, I know it's not technically grounded but the GFCI will work for the light switch and the outlet, correct, so that if wet little fingers managed to short the switch, it would shut off without electrocuting anyone? Do I need to do anything with the two pigtail black wires coming out of the top of the GFCI?

Thanks again.

Attached Images    
Sponsored Links
Old 10-18-15, 01:34 PM
Group Moderator
You should have two 2-conductor cables in the box. One that is in coming power and one that goes to the light. What I'm going to write is based on that. If you don't post back.
  • The two whites of the two cables to the silver side of the line side of the GFCI combo.
  • To the brass line side the black of the power in cable and one of the two GFCI switch leads.