Portable generator inlet plug INSIDE garage

Old 10-27-15, 12:43 PM
I
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Portable generator inlet plug INSIDE garage

Is there a gen inlet plug that can be cut into wall and wired into service panel? I'll be running the cable outside (under my garage door) into the back yard to plug into generator, but do I need a gen. inlet box mounted since it's not being mounted outside? I'm not an electrician and not sure it's code compliant.

Old 10-27-15, 02:08 PM
Group Moderator
Received 3,951 Upvotes on 3,544 Posts
You could put an L14-30 (inlet) in the wall. I've only seen them with the weather proof cover since you need the male version. I believe it will install in a two gang box.

Bryant 71430MBWP Weather Protective Power Inlets

Last edited by ray2047; 10-27-15 at 03:19 PM. Reason: receptacle>inlet
Old 10-28-15, 04:49 AM
A
Received 163 Upvotes on 136 Posts
I'm not an electrician and not sure it's code compliant.
Another point for your concern is that -
I'll be running the cable outside (under my garage door)
Doing so will subject the cable to possible damage over time. Why don't you mount the inlet such as this type (or the like depending on your generator) on the outside wall - Generator Inlet (for outdoor use). Over a period of time hitting the cable with the garage door may damage the cable.

Old 10-29-15, 10:34 AM
I
Thanks for the input guys. I have a dual gang box and cover with round hole--just need to get inlet plug to mount. Electrician told me to wire the cable straight to the panel and eliminate the inlet and female plugs. Just don't think that's to code.