100 AMP Sub Panel

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-04-15, 09:02 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 5
100 AMP Sub Panel

What size wire do I need for a 100 amp subpanel I will be about 50 foot between main and subpanel.

Thank You
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-04-15, 10:02 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,041
For a 60A panel--- Three #6 and one #10. .
 

Last edited by ibpooks; 11-05-15 at 08:31 AM. Reason: Note added
  #3  
Old 11-05-15, 08:30 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,502
What wiring method do you want to use? Cable, conduit, indoors, outdoors, aluminum, copper?
 
  #4  
Old 11-05-15, 08:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 5
Copper run in conduit outdoors don't know if I even know if I need 100 amp breaker I do have a 100 amp sub panel but it is just a bedroom with 2 15 amp breakers to run 7 plug and two lights and a 20 amp breaker for a 110 8000 btu window unit.
 
  #5  
Old 11-06-15, 08:11 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,502
You can feed the panel with up to 100A, but can be less. For the small cabin you describe a much smaller feed would be acceptable. Even 40A would do it. Potentially even a 20A multiwire circuit could do without a panel. Will there also be an electric heater in addition to the AC unit?

For 100A if you did choose to go that way you would need #3 THHN copper for the hots and neutral and #8 green for the ground in at least 1-1/4" conduit.

If you go with 60A, which is the next common size down, you can use #6 THHN copper for the hots and neutral and #10 green for the ground. Technically you could use 3/4" conduit, but I wouldn't go below 1".

For 40A or 50A go with #8 THHN copper for the hots and neutral and #10 green for the ground.

In any case burial depth for the PVC conduit is 18"
 
  #6  
Old 11-06-15, 06:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 5
yes there will be a electric heater thinking about a 1500 watt baseboard heater
 
  #7  
Old 11-06-15, 06:59 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,379
60 amps is more than adequate for the load.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes