Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

replacing electrical light switch with 6 wires....need help!

replacing electrical light switch with 6 wires....need help!

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-12-15, 07:27 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 4
replacing electrical light switch with 6 wires....need help!

hey everyone i currently moved into a condo built in the 80s and i wanted to replace my toggle switches with rocker switches. Some on the switches have 3 toggle switches on them to control 3 different lights in the kitchen. I took out the outlet and there was 3 black wires in the back of the outlet and then a orange red and blue wire in the back. I purchased a new leviton switch with 3 rockers on it. My question is how do i hook up the 6 wires to new switch. It has 3 screw terminals on one side and 1 screw terminal on the other side, where do 6 wires go? I will post some pictures. ThanksName:  20151112_142044_resized.jpg
Views: 1659
Size:  18.0 KBName:  20151112_142057_resized.jpg
Views: 1525
Size:  18.2 KBName:  20151112_142316_resized.jpg
Views: 1449
Size:  27.2 KBName:  20151112_142319_resized.jpg
Views: 1484
Size:  27.0 KBName:  20151112_142334_resized.jpg
Views: 1562
Size:  19.0 KBName:  762bff39-0061-417e-b67c-28c1398ce6b7_400.jpg
Views: 1490
Size:  11.6 KB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-12-15, 08:33 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,058
If those are switch loops that switch won't work. If there are not three or more white wires connected only to each other in the switch box then those are switch loops so you would need a different switch.
 
  #3  
Old 11-12-15, 08:41 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 4
can you recommend the correct switch i need please
 
  #4  
Old 11-12-15, 08:58 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,228
It looks like the three black wires are all connected to a single wire with a red wirenut.
Is that correct ?
 
  #5  
Old 11-13-15, 03:21 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,594
The three screw on on side are the switched hot going to different fixtures. The single screw is the hot feed.
 
  #6  
Old 11-13-15, 06:00 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3,314
Are all of the black conductors on the same circuit,if so you could wirenut them with a pigtail and attach it to the single terminal on the side and connect switchlegs as they were on the old switch.
Despard makes switches that may work for you but don't see any rocker type.http://www.kyleswitchplates.com/desp...tches-outlets/
 

Last edited by Geochurchi; 11-13-15 at 06:08 AM. Reason: Added a link
  #7  
Old 11-14-15, 02:18 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 915
http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pro...8ce6b7_400.jpg

Is this switch you have purchased?

If so, do the following.

1. Remove wire nut holding black wires and remove 2 of black wires going to the switch. (you are keeping 1)
2. Connect black wire to the side with single screw.
3. Connect rest of wires to side with 3 screws in the same order as existing switch.


The difference between new and old switch is that old switch had separate hot connections for each of 3 switches and new switch has single common hot connection for all 3 switches (internally connected).
 
  #8  
Old 11-14-15, 03:28 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,058
But if they are switch loops that may not work. You could even get a 240 volt short. First answer my original question. Are there a group of whites connected to each other in the switch box? Answer that before going any further.
 
  #9  
Old 11-14-15, 05:14 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,228
Instead of repeating the same method over and over..... let's wait for the OP to respond.
 
  #10  
Old 11-15-15, 07:17 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 4
I turned off the fuse so it looks like the black wires are all on the same circuit
 
  #11  
Old 11-15-15, 07:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 4
sorry guys i was outta town for the weekend. But to answer all your guys questions. It doesnt look like there is a group of white wires connected in the switch box. Yes, the three black wires are going to a single wire nut. And that is the switch i bought
 
  #12  
Old 11-15-15, 07:33 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,228
Since all the switches share the same power wire then you should be ok.

The three jumpers can be removed from the single wire and that single wire can be connected to the switch directly. The three colored wires would connect on the opposite side in the order you want.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes