Moving outlet about 3-4 inches higher.

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-14-15, 03:53 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 302
Moving outlet about 3-4 inches higher.

Hello! Probably an easy one for you guys. I want to move an outlet approx. 3-4 inches higher than where it is now. I only have one outlet in the bathroom and we want to replace our vanity. Problem is almost every vanity we have seen so far is around 35 inches high, which would cover our one outlet. I plan on putting up new sheetrock in this room. My question is: can I just extend the wires using wire nuts to the new box? Didn't know how safe this would be? Any ideas or suggestions are greatly appreciated as always! Thanks! Jack
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-14-15, 04:05 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,477
Any splices made MUST be in a covered and accessible junction box.

Where does the cable come from to feed that receptacle ?
Is there only one cable to that box ?

If the cable comes from the basement..... pull it back down, set a box in the basement and then send a new piece of cable back up that is long enough.
 
  #3  
Old 11-14-15, 04:14 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 302
Thanks for the quick reply Pete! It's actually a mobile home, thus no basement.
 
  #4  
Old 11-14-15, 04:18 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,477
You may have to put a junction box in an out of the way location in the undersink vanity.
 
  #5  
Old 11-14-15, 04:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 302
Would that be considered safe being that it would be near the water supply lines and drain pipe? Thanks again!
 
  #6  
Old 11-14-15, 04:58 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,657
Yes, it would be safe. Receptacles are done all the time under kitchen sinks for garbage disposers. A lavatory is no different except in this case there would be a blank plate.
 
  #7  
Old 11-14-15, 05:05 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 302
Oh ok, so I should use a junction box inside the vanity, then run the wires up to where I want to locate the new outlet? Sorry about all the questions as I know little about wiring. Thanks as always!
 
  #8  
Old 11-14-15, 05:34 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,657
Yes, that is the correct way to do it.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'