Main breaker off - power meter still runs (turning)

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-17-15, 01:48 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Main breaker off - power meter still runs (turning)

Hello,
I was testing my energy usage by taking measurements at my meter. At one point I noticed the following peculiarity.

After turning off the main at the breaker panel, I noticed the wheel on the meter was still turning ever so slowly.

Based on my calculations... using my houses Elstar meter with a common 7.2wh per rotation frequency. The wheel is divided into 10 sections, and each of those are divided into 10 tick marks. So I timed the movement of one full tick, which should be .000072 kwh; it took 19.58s (.005439 hrs), equating (.000072/.005439) to .013238 kw or about 13.2 watts.

I've heard that meters use some wattage in their workings, is this true?
Even if it is true, 13.2 watts seems high, is it?

Should the meter be dead stopped when the main breaker is off?

Am I calculating or testing something incorrectly?

Thank you!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-17-15, 05:44 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,213
Should the meter be dead stopped when the main breaker is off?
Yes. Call your power company and ask them about it.
 
  #3  
Old 11-17-15, 05:51 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,460
If it's a GPU meter then it should not be moving when turned off.
 
  #4  
Old 11-18-15, 07:36 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,292
It should be dead stopped when the main is off, unless you have something like a mains power indicator light or an automatic generator transfer switch which in some configurations can pull a small amount of power ahead of the main.
 
  #5  
Old 11-19-15, 09:37 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Are you sure you don't have a second main in another panel?
 
  #6  
Old 11-20-15, 10:26 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,059
And be sure you do in fact have a single main breaker on your panel and it's not a split-bus panel. A split-bus panel requires you to turn off a couple breakers to actually remove all power to your house.

You can be certain by turning off all the breakers in the panel.

13 watts sounds like it could be an old oven clock or something similar.
 
  #7  
Old 11-20-15, 04:11 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 20
you have a power leak

You could have an electrical leak . that amount would run two led light bulbs.
Have you UNPLUGGED your TVs etc.? the component that is waiting for a signal from the remote control uses more than you'd think.
In real simplistic terms I read it is kind of like a short but not enough to trip the circuit breaker.
Try turning off the circuit breakers one at a time. If you find a circuit that's leaking, turn it off until fixed.
google electric leak, a lot of people won't believe 'electricity leak'.

Please post after fixing I'm dying to know what it is.

My mom's bill was $87 many years ago, mine a half mile away and a much much larger house was $25. I turned off everything and checked the meter which was spinning like crazy. A neighbor came over. Ceiling radiant heat, thermostat behind a door she had never closed. Heating like crazy for a year. She had to open windows to cool the place, even in winter, even when raining. Old people!! never mentioned it to me, just happened to see the bill. Now I am 'old', and doing different things.
 
  #8  
Old 11-20-15, 05:25 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,643
I turned off everything and checked the meter which was spinning like crazy. A neighbor came over. Ceiling radiant heat, thermostat behind a door she had never closed.
The original poster turned off the main breaker. A situation like you describe would not happen with a main breaker turned off unless it leaked. If both the main breaker and branch circuit breakers were turned off there should be no power flow even if the main breaker "leaked". Turning off or disconnecting individual devices won't work for reasons you stated but that wasn't what the poster did. He wrote:
After turning off the main at the breaker panel,
Of course panels without main breakers are another mater but that is not what this is about.


Littleaboutalot, to eliminate a problem with the main breaker also shut off all branch circuit breakers as suggested by Zorfdt.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'