Can 220 be converted into 2 seperate 110 lines?

Old 04-08-01, 02:06 PM
G
Visiting Guest
During a recent remodeling, I had the builder wire a line into the breaker box to be run out to my workshop and to the pool to run the pump. He wired it up as 220 using 6 ga. wire. Can I wire two seperate lines to this wire? In the breaker box, he has white to a breaker, black to another breaker, bare to the other side. The red wire has been clipped off. Wouldn't I wire one line to black and bare and the other line to white and bare? Also, not being electrically knowledgable, what would I do to assure these lines were properly grounded?

Sponsored Links
Old 04-08-01, 02:37 PM
G
Visiting Guest
brjranch;
you'll need black & red for hots, white for nuetral, bare for ground. would this, if it happens, replace your pool pump?

Old 04-08-01, 04:16 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Cool

I'm not an electrician, but to add a bit of detail to wirenuts' reply, you have 6/3-with-ground wire and you should be able to run the pool pump and 110v circuits with it, I think.
At least I've done it with my boathouse since 1995.
From a 20 amp gfci breaker in the panel, I ran 10/3-with-ground to a breaker box and split 220v (red, black hots and green ground) to the 3/4 hp boatlift motor and one hot each, the white neutral and bare ground to a 110v lighting circuit and a 110v outlet circuit.
In the panel (turn the main breaker OFF, but remember that the two legs above it are still HOT), the red and black (hot)wires need to be on the breaker, the white (neutral for the 110v) needs to be in the panel neutral bar, and the bare ground wire should be in the panel ground bar.
Just look to see where the rest of the matching wires are.
The 220v pool pump needs red and black hot wires only (no white neutral) and a ground.
The 110v circuits need EITHER one red or one black, a white, and a ground wire.