Adding a receptacle to a bathroom

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-21-15, 05:03 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: mobile alabama USA
Posts: 144
Adding a receptacle to a bathroom

this house was built in 1962 and has the original wiring and it isnt a grounded system. What I mean by it not being ungrounded is that all the plugs have have 2 slots with no ground slot. There's no plug in the bathroom now though and it's very inconvenient. I was thinking of changing the light switch with a plug/switch combonation or adding a plug next to the light switch becasue the existing switch is pretty close to the vanity. It a small bathroom. Would this work?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-21-15, 05:35 AM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 11,531
One of the pro electricians should be along with a better answer, but for starters any outlet in the bath would need to be GFCI. There are ways to do this, but I'm not qualified to be giving the advice on it.
 
  #3  
Old 11-21-15, 06:13 AM
Handyone's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,451
The switch box might not have a neutral. If you see only one black wire and one white connected to the switch, the white wire is not a neutral. It's a switch leg and can't be used to feed a receptacle.

Let us know if you need help testing for 120V
 
  #4  
Old 11-21-15, 07:23 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: mobile alabama USA
Posts: 144
I hadn't thought of that but I do see what you're saying. I wonder if they still make those light fixtures with plugs on the side like they used to? I havent looked at any bath fixtures in a long long time.
 
  #5  
Old 11-21-15, 07:33 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,280
"Plugs"

When you say "plug", do you mean receptacle?
 
  #6  
Old 11-21-15, 08:10 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,221
I wonder if they still make those light fixtures with plugs on the side like they used to?
Yes, I have seen a couple new fixtures with receptacles, but they still must be GFCI protected or it would be creating a code violation. Many jursidictions won't allow them.

I was thinking of changing the light switch with a plug/switch combonation or adding a plug next to the light switch becasue the existing switch is pretty close to the vanity. It a small bathroom. Would this work?
You aren't allowed to extend an ungrounded circuit. The best option would be to run a new 20 amp circuit and fish it into the wall to an old work box and install the new 15A tamper resistant GFCI receptacle.

NOTE: UL requirements on GFCI receptacles changed in June 2015 to require all new GFCI receptacles and circuit breakers to have a self test function. GFCI receptacles now cost about twice what they used to. Google UL 943 for more information.
 
  #7  
Old 11-21-15, 11:33 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: mobile alabama USA
Posts: 144
Yes, plug=receptacle. Years ago, there was a light fixture with a receptacle on it in the bathroom and we changed it for cosmetic reasons. Seems like I could change it back without violating code but i dont know. Adding another circuit so I can install a ground fault protected receptacle is out of the question. I would have to change the breaker box and everything. I'm to old and poor to get into all that.
 
  #8  
Old 11-21-15, 04:33 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,361
Tell us the number and colors of the wiring at the switch box.

The code would require a new 20 amp circuit for the receptacle.

Your wiring may have a ground that is in the back of the box. What type of wiring is it?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'