4 outlets on 4 switches

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-23-15, 11:51 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 4
4 outlets on 4 switches

We are putting 4 fans in our barn one over each horse stall and then at the end will be one always hot outlet set. I am of course using 12/3 on a 20 amp circuit. So I have 12/3 from the breaker to the gang box with all the switches then here is where I need help. Each switch needs to control one outlet set over a horse stall so we can turn the fans on stall by stall then the last outlet set is always hot hence the need for 12/3 and not 12/2. I know the extra hot wire will run all the way to the last always hot outlet set without touching any of the fan outlet sets so you can skip that part of the equation. My question is do I pigtail in the gang box with the switches to make 4 hot wires to each switch which then in turn goes to each outlet set. Also the neutral and ground should go to each fan outlet set and pigtail all ending at the always hot outlet set.
 

Last edited by Brian Zdunowski; 11-23-15 at 12:28 PM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-23-15, 12:47 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,659
Each switch needs to control one outlet set over a horse stall so we can turn the fans on stall by stall then
Short of using conduit and individual conductors I don't see anyway of doing this. I see no way way with 12-3. With cable for four separately controlled receptacles you'd need a separate cable to each fan.
 
  #3  
Old 11-23-15, 03:16 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,213
I also believe this is a good application for conduit rather than making 4 plus runs with NM cables. Think about it like this, to box 1 run 1 red, to box 2 run 1 blue, to box 3 run 1 brown and to box 4 run 1 purple. Now, run 1 white, 1 black and 1 green ground the full length of the conduit run stopping at box 5. Red, blue, brown and purple are switched wires. The white is neutral needed at each of the 5 boxes. The black is an always hot wire needed only at box 5. The green ground is needed at all 5 boxes.
 
  #4  
Old 11-23-15, 06:24 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,982
A building that houses livestock, NM-b and metallic raceways are not allowed. I agree with Joe, conduit (PVC) is the way to go.
 
  #5  
Old 11-23-15, 06:47 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Grosse Ile, Michigan
Posts: 123
Do you want all the switches in one location or a switch at each stall?
 
  #6  
Old 11-24-15, 07:03 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 4
I am sorry I wasnt clear I though switching from romex to THHN in PVC conduit was implied. My questions is mainly at the switch box an on the wiring including pigtails and yes the switches are all in one place to make it convenient.
 
  #7  
Old 11-24-15, 08:19 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,213
A building that houses livestock, NM-b and metallic raceways are not allowed
I am not familiar with the codes surrounding barns and livestock facilities. Why is it that metallic conduit wouldn't be allowed?

I am sorry I wasnt clear I though switching from romex to THHN in PVC conduit was implied.
When you use terms such as 12/3 and 12/2, the implication is cable.
 
  #8  
Old 11-24-15, 08:40 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,659
I though switching from romex to THHN in PVC conduit was implied.
No. Then you should have said 12-6 which really would have confused us.

At the switch box black of power in is connected to the black THHN/THWN out and four pigtails. One pigtail goes to one side of each switch.Your switched hots out one to each switch. At the receptacle boxes the unused hots pass through without being cut. Neutral and ground are pigtailed to their respective connections at each receptacle.
 
  #9  
Old 11-24-15, 09:13 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 4
Thank you Ray2047 this was my thoughts but I need to hear it from someone else too
 
  #10  
Old 11-24-15, 05:41 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,982
Why is it that metallic conduit wouldn't be allowed?
The "emissions" and manure from live stock can be quite corrosive, that along with dust and moisture causes metallic raceways to corrode quite quickly.
 
  #11  
Old 11-25-15, 06:10 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 4
The "emissions" and manure from live stock can be quite corrosive, that along with dust and moisture causes metallic raceways to corrode quite quickly.

First off this is the dumbest thing I have ever heard as 90% of the barns here have EMT and I have never seen them "corrode" as people dont leave their horse manure and urine sitting in the stalls. It is removed and placed in a manure bin out of the barn. I am not flaming you just setting you straight

Now newer built barns have PVC because it is considered a wet location and that and only that is the reason EMT is no longer used
 
  #12  
Old 11-26-15, 07:42 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,982
Now newer built barns have PVC because it is considered a wet location and that and only that is the reason EMT is no longer used
It is perfectly legal to install EMT in wet locations when proper fittings and conductors are used. It being a wet location has nothing to do with it. It is because of the corrosive atmosphere.

Perhaps you should take a look at Art 547 of the NEC before trying to "set me straight".
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'