GFCI connection

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-30-15, 08:05 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,327
GFCI connection

I want to extend a 15A basement circuit to add an overhead light. I intend to tap off an existing GFCI receptacle. The GFCI line connections are the clamp type with clamps that appear to be designed to accept two wires (two holes and two wire recesses) on both the hot and neutral. I know I can pigtail the connections in the box, but is it acceptable to tap off the line connection having two wires under each clamp.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-30-15, 08:20 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,508
Yes.... those type connection screws are designed for two wires to be connected to each screw.
 
  #3  
Old 11-30-15, 10:03 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,327
Thanks Pete. Made the job a bit easier doing it that way. A million years ago I had a part time job pulling wire for an electrician and one of the things that stuck in my mind was "one screw - one wire".
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'