Wiring new outlet into existing circuit

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-11-15, 08:45 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1
Wiring new outlet into existing circuit

I have an A/C unit on a double 20amp breaker. The wire coming from panel goes into a junction box. It is then connected via wire nuts to another wire that runs to my A/c unit outside. Not sure why it was done this way. It is an old building and the landlord is dumb. This junction box is in a small utility closet. I want an outlet in there. Is it possible to wire an outlet in the middle of this circuit, in the junction box? I need power to a small rodi unit. Will draw 2.5amps at max.

Or will this idea overload anything plugged into that outlet?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-11-15, 09:29 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,359
The double breaker would typically mean that is a 240 volt only circuit. There is no neutral for a 120 circuit. Also the A/C circuit should be dedicated.
 
  #3  
Old 12-12-15, 06:49 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: US
Posts: 290
Your lease probably prohibits you from doing what you propose.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'