Kitchen Wiring Help

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-20-15, 08:47 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 14
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Kitchen Wiring Help

Hi Everyone,

I could use some help with the wiring of a GFCI outlet and switch in my kitchen. I moved into my house a couple months ago and everything was working fine but recently when I have been turning on the switch that activates my kitchen cabinet lights it has been causing the outlet to trip and lights to turn off.

I have attached a diagram of how the outlet and and switch are currently wired. There are two other outlets in this same circuit. One is to the left of the outlet and the other is to the write of the switch. My concern is that these may not have been wired properly. Please let me know if any additional info is needed.

Name:  Wiring Diagram.png
Views: 781
Size:  9.4 KB

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-20-15, 09:01 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,577
Received 1,042 Votes on 966 Posts
Your diagram shows the lights connected to the line side of the GFI receptacle which is correct.

I'm assuming the incoming power also attaches to the same line terminals ?
In your diagram you show a red wire.... is one of the wires on the switch red ?
You're showing two lights as always live and one light switched.
 
  #3  
Old 12-20-15, 09:20 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 14
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry my diagram should have been more clear. Those actually aren't the lights. Those are where the wires are entering the box.Name:  16c8b704-c08d-4169-80b1-2807d1c27893.jpg
Views: 329
Size:  30.1 KB
 
  #4  
Old 12-20-15, 09:29 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,577
Received 1,042 Votes on 966 Posts
Ahh... ok.

it has been causing the outlet to trip and lights to turn off.
Which receptacle to trip...... not the one in the diagram ?

You show the lights powered off the black wire which is connected to the line side of the receptacle.
 
  #5  
Old 12-20-15, 09:32 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 14
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ya the receptacle in the diagram which kills the one to the right of the switch (not pictured) as well.
 
  #6  
Old 12-20-15, 09:38 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,577
Received 1,042 Votes on 966 Posts
There are two sets of terminals on the back of a GFI.... line and load. You're showing using line only. That means that the GFI is not protecting anything downstream. Is it possible the wiring is different on the back of the receptacle then you are showing ?

It can be hard to read the line and load markings.
 
  #7  
Old 12-20-15, 07:35 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 110
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A rapid-start fluorescent fixture cannot be powered through a GFCI. Starting the lamp trips the GFCI through capacitive coupling from ground to the lamp tube which is needed to start the lamp.
 
  #8  
Old 12-20-15, 08:47 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,577
Received 1,042 Votes on 966 Posts
In this case.... the OP has illustrated connecting the lights to the line side of the GFI receptacle which means that the lights are not powered thru the GFI.
 
  #9  
Old 12-21-15, 05:10 AM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,451
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Look at the wire nut with the 3 black wires.
1 of these wires is source hot
1 provides power downstream
1 is a pigtail (which should go to the line side hot on GFI)

How did the light switch get power? Maybe it was a short piece of wire from the GFI load terminal to the switch and this would be wrong.
Undo the wire nut, add another black pigtail.
One hot pigtail goes to GFI line terminal, the other to the switch.
 
  #10  
Old 12-21-15, 06:09 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 14
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks everyone for the help! It turns out it was a connection of the upstream outlet. I removed the outlet and connected the two black wires together and everything downstream lit up. I will just add a pigtail to add the outlet back.

Thanks again,

Mike
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: