How to wire outdoor radon fan?

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-26-15, 10:26 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 85
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question How to wire outdoor radon fan?

How to wire outdoor radon fan?

The manuals provide no guidance other than it accepting 15 amp / 120 volt.

I want to run a dedicated circuit, only because I don't have anything in the area to tap into.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-26-15, 10:35 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Is this hard wired or is it plugged in? Some details about the fan and maybe pictures of where it is going.
 
  #3  
Old 12-26-15, 10:42 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,187
Received 477 Votes on 447 Posts
Most of the radon fans I've connected are direct wired and require a basic disconnect like a switch in a weatherproof box.
 
  #4  
Old 12-26-15, 11:00 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 85
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What weatherproof box?

What wire?

What conduit?
 
  #5  
Old 12-26-15, 11:10 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,187
Received 477 Votes on 447 Posts
Conduit would not normally be required. I usually bring the cable into the back of the switch box and use a short piece of flex. If the wiring needs to be exposed to the switch or the fan..... you can use 14-2 UF (weatherproof) cable.

Some exhaust fans come with a power cord which would require a receptacle instead of a service switch.

Name:  fan tech.JPG
Views: 4498
Size:  35.4 KB
 
  #6  
Old 12-26-15, 12:49 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 85
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What kind of cable goes into the switch box from the house?

Do you have a weblink for the switch box?
 
  #7  
Old 12-26-15, 01:22 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,187
Received 477 Votes on 447 Posts
If the switch is in a location where you can bring the wire directly in from the back.... then you can use regular NM (romex) cable.

You'd want a PVC or cast weatherproof box with 1/2" hubs. One in the back and one on the bottom.
Bell 1 Gang Weatherproof Box Three 1/2 in. Outlets-PSB37550GY - The Home Depot


You'd want a PVC or diecast switch plate depending on the box you purchased.
Carlon 1-Gang Weatherproof Toggle Switch Cover-E98TSCN-CAR - The Home Depot


You can buy a premade conduit with wire to connect the box to the fan. The link is a 6' model. I think they also have shorter ones available. You can also shorten the 6' model.
http://www.homedepot.com/p/AFC-Cable...5-HD/202286686
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: