How to wire outdoor radon fan?

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-26-15, 10:26 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 92
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question How to wire outdoor radon fan?

How to wire outdoor radon fan?

The manuals provide no guidance other than it accepting 15 amp / 120 volt.

I want to run a dedicated circuit, only because I don't have anything in the area to tap into.
 
  #2  
Old 12-26-15, 10:35 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Is this hard wired or is it plugged in? Some details about the fan and maybe pictures of where it is going.
 
  #3  
Old 12-26-15, 10:42 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,742
Received 1,318 Votes on 1,218 Posts
Most of the radon fans I've connected are direct wired and require a basic disconnect like a switch in a weatherproof box.
 
  #4  
Old 12-26-15, 11:00 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 92
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What weatherproof box?

What wire?

What conduit?
 
  #5  
Old 12-26-15, 11:10 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,742
Received 1,318 Votes on 1,218 Posts
Conduit would not normally be required. I usually bring the cable into the back of the switch box and use a short piece of flex. If the wiring needs to be exposed to the switch or the fan..... you can use 14-2 UF (weatherproof) cable.

Some exhaust fans come with a power cord which would require a receptacle instead of a service switch.

Name:  fan tech.JPG
Views: 5986
Size:  35.4 KB
 
  #6  
Old 12-26-15, 12:49 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 92
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What kind of cable goes into the switch box from the house?

Do you have a weblink for the switch box?
 
  #7  
Old 12-26-15, 01:22 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,742
Received 1,318 Votes on 1,218 Posts
If the switch is in a location where you can bring the wire directly in from the back.... then you can use regular NM (romex) cable.

You'd want a PVC or cast weatherproof box with 1/2" hubs. One in the back and one on the bottom.
Bell 1 Gang Weatherproof Box Three 1/2 in. Outlets-PSB37550GY - The Home Depot


You'd want a PVC or diecast switch plate depending on the box you purchased.
Carlon 1-Gang Weatherproof Toggle Switch Cover-E98TSCN-CAR - The Home Depot


You can buy a premade conduit with wire to connect the box to the fan. The link is a 6' model. I think they also have shorter ones available. You can also shorten the 6' model.
http://www.homedepot.com/p/AFC-Cable...5-HD/202286686
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: