Looking for Zinsco 30A single type-T breaker?

Old 01-01-16, 05:40 PM
S
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Looking for Zinsco 30A single type-T breaker?

I am a slightly new electrician, 6 years as a journeyman in Oregon and Washington. Normally if I have questions I know where to look for the answer, some take longer but eventually I can pin down the answer. This one I'm coming up with blah.
I did work at an old bank that was wired in the very early 1900's with side by side 200A panels, they were 1/8th" steel and zero markings. The panel cover was a completely flat 5' by 4' 1/8th" steel, spanning both panels. The access doors were literally cut out of the rectangular piece of steel than hinges were bolted on. Absolutely zero markings that had identifying significance. It took 3 of us to re hang by the way.
I do have one item to help identify the Era these were installed, does anybody carry these breakers, and is there any other type that would fit in this panel.
Here are some pics, I think they are a very hard and rare breaker to locate.

Name:  IMG_1925.jpg
Views: 625
Size:  20.4 KBName:  IMG_1923.jpg
Views: 681
Size:  26.9 KBName:  IMG_1929.jpg
Views: 626
Size:  20.9 KBName:  IMG_1916.jpg
Views: 585
Size:  27.2 KBName:  IMG_1917.jpg
Views: 611
Size:  44.1 KBName:  IMG_1931.jpg
Views: 725
Size:  43.5 KB

Last edited by spark999; 01-01-16 at 05:53 PM. Reason: Adding pics
Old 01-01-16, 05:51 PM
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
The bottom line is Zinsco panels are unsafe and obsolete. The panels need to be replaced.

Your pictures didn't show. http://www.doityourself.com/forum/li...rt-images.html

See:
http://inspectapedia.com/electric/Zinsco.htm

Old 01-01-16, 06:11 PM
S
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I'm not doing anything else their, I'm just curious about it and do not like when I figure it out. It's like reading an awesome 1200 page book than having to stop 40 pages from the end.