Help with ice machine plug

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-06-16, 12:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 6
Help with ice machine plug

I have an existing 50 amp 220 plug wired from a range that I would like to use for an ice cream machine.

The machine says that it is a 208-230 v with a 20 amp breaker. The problem is that the machine has no plug and only has a black, white, and ground.

The hardware store gave me conflicting products and I don't know what to do. One is a 3 wire locking plug with an outlet that only has three terminals or giant plug to put in the existing range outlet.
It is my understanding that a 220 needs a red and black hot wire to generate that many volts. Can I attach both hots to a single hot terminal on the 3 wire plug outlet? Or can I only wire three off the prongs on the range plug and put both hots on a single range outlet terminal.

I don't Internet well so no pictures. Please help
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-06-16, 01:02 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 563
In order to get 240 V you need to use both phases of the power supply to your home. The wiring coming out of your ice cream machine doesn't sound like it has 2 hot leads so that could be a major issue. Normally you would wire black to hot, white to neutral and green to ground but that would only supply 120 V to the device.

Without having a schematic or other information about the ice cream machine it's hard to tell what you need to do. I could guess that both the black and white go to the 2 hot phases and the green goes to ground but normal electrical practices would say that's incorrect and possibly it could fry all the electronics in the ice cream machine.

By any chance could this have been an overseas device designed for European 220 V service?
 
  #3  
Old 01-06-16, 02:33 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,643
I have an existing 50 amp 220 plug wired from a range
Actually that would be a receptacle. A plug is male. The actual voltage would be 120/240. Is this still used for a stove? if so it can not be used for the ice cream maker because the breaker will need to be changed to 20 amps.

Even if it is no longer used for the stove there are other considerations. if this is a three prong receptacle then it may not have a ground and therefore the feed to it can not be used.

If it is not needed for a stove and it has a ground you would replace the receptacle with a NEMA 6-20R and install a NEMA 6-20 plug on the ice cream machine.
 
  #4  
Old 01-06-16, 04:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 6
I was able to find some info online. It is a Saniserv b5a and it looks to be made for US use. To be UL listed it needs to use the nema 6-20r receptacle and plug.

The range is removed and the only thing on the circuit will be the machine. The current wiring is less than two years old and consists of a two pole 50 amp breaker with a red and black wire attached. There is also a white common and ground wire run. To replace the breaker I re attach the same wires to the two pole 20 but how do I wire the nema 6-20 plug and 6-20r outlet with the plug being three wire and the outlet being four?

Thank you for the help and quick responses.
 
  #5  
Old 01-06-16, 04:59 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,643
To replace the breaker I re attach the same wires to the two pole 20
The red and black wires will probably be too large for the breaker so you will need to wire nut two #12 pigtails to the black and red. The white will be disconnected and capped with a wire nut. The ground remains connected.

At the new receptacle you do not use the white, just cap it. The ground may fit the receptacle but you will probably need to use pigtails on the red and black.
6-20r outlet with the plug being three wire and the outlet being four?
6-20 receptacle is three wires not four, two hots and a ground.
 
  #6  
Old 01-07-16, 10:03 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 6
Ok that sounds good. For hopefully one last bit of clarification, do I attach the red and the black wires in the outlet to specific terminals? Also there isn't a red wire on the wire coming out of the machine. Is that a cause for concern? Do I just make sure the black wires are on matching terminals and put the red and white together?
 
  #7  
Old 01-07-16, 10:11 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,643
do I attach the red and the black wires in the outlet
You will have two brass screws and a green. Green is obviously ground. The two hot wires are interchangeable.
Also there isn't a red wire on the wire coming out of the machine.
That is because that is the colors of standard 3-wire service cord. Again green to green screw and black and white to the brass screws.

Connections for NEMA 6-20 plug:
Name:  BG.jpg
Views: 349
Size:  15.5 KB
 

Last edited by ray2047; 01-07-16 at 10:34 AM.
  #8  
Old 01-17-16, 01:56 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 6
Thank you ray! The machine works like a dream.
 
  #9  
Old 01-17-16, 03:32 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,643
Glad you got it. Thanks for letting us know.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'