Adding Switch - Too Many Cables

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-09-16, 06:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 43
Adding Switch - Too Many Cables

My wife asked me to move a switch from our living room to next to the door coming in from our garage. Currently, there is one switch next to this door.

I've ripped out the electrical box and was expecting to just use 2 single gang metal boxes (joined together) to complete this job, however, there are already lines of BX cable and a line of metal conduit coming into this box.

What are my options considering I only have 2 knockouts in the top of the 2 gang metal boxes I bought? Previously they had a square box in there. Do I need to get an old work square box (3 holes on top) and an adapter plate for the 2 switches? Or is there a way to utilize what I've already bought?

Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-09-16, 06:38 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,263
A cut-in or gem box has two knockouts in the top. You can remove one side of each box and combine them. That will give you four knockouts up top. Is that not enough ?

I just re-read your post..... conduit and MC ?


Name:  G601-BX.jpg
Views: 75
Size:  18.2 KB
 
  #3  
Old 01-09-16, 06:40 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 669
Can you route the new cable from the old switch box to the new switch box to enter from the bottom (assumes there are knockouts on the bottom of the new box)?
 
  #4  
Old 01-09-16, 06:43 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 43
Is there a way to easily extend the armored cable without splicing it in a box?
 
  #5  
Old 01-09-16, 06:47 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 43
PJMax - Yes, there are 2 lines of armored cable and one metal conduit. This wall has the garage on the other size, not sure if that has something to do with it?
 
  #6  
Old 01-09-16, 06:50 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 43
PJ - I only see a single knockout on the top of the image you provided? 4 would absolutely be enough.
 
  #7  
Old 01-09-16, 06:54 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 43
I might add that the new line will come in from the bottom or side, however, i need 3 knockouts on the top as i can't extend the conduit or bx cable.
 
  #8  
Old 01-09-16, 07:03 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,263
The top or bottom of a gem box has one 1/2" KO or two knockouts for romex/bx cable.

You will have to open the wall and use a 4" square 1900 box with a two gang mud ring.
 
  #9  
Old 01-09-16, 07:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 43
Makes sense. Thanks for your help!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes