Will this astronomical timer work with my current wiring?

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-10-16, 01:21 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 38
Will this astronomical timer work with my current wiring?

I've had an Intermatic T101 timer in use but it suddenly stopped working.

I'm looking to upgrade to one that is a bit more convenient, but I'm not sure that it's compatible with my current wiring. It's the Leviton VPT24-1PZ.

Below are the specs given for each of the timers, the new one I'm looking at and the current old one, respectively. If we assume that the Intermatic's specs are compatible with my current wiring, will the Leviton do just fine to power a small business neon sign?

+ Leviton: 120VAC, 60HZ, 15A Resistive/Inductive, 1HP, for single pole, 1800W Incandescent

- Intermatic: 125 volts, 60 Hz, 1-circuit standard On/Off Single Pole Single Throw 40 Amps, 4000 watt capacity,


Thanks in advance!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-10-16, 01:53 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
It will depend greatly on what you are controlling with the timer. The Intermatic is bulletproof and will handle quite a load. It is mechanical so the time will have to be reset in the event of a power failure. I use one of them for my diesel heater on my truck.

The Leviton is for lighting, will require a neutral in the switch box and has a lesser load factor amperage wise than the Intermatiac. Fill us in on what you are powering so we can give better advice.
 
  #3  
Old 01-10-16, 01:57 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 38
It would be used to power an outdoor small business neon sign in the store window.
 
  #4  
Old 01-10-16, 03:10 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,182
That Leviton switch would be a good choice to run that sign. Since you were already using a T-101 that means you have neutral available at that location.

Depot sells a timer that's very similar to the Leviton. Biggest difference is that it doesn't use a battery. It's made by Reliance.
 
  #5  
Old 01-10-16, 04:16 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 38
Thanks for that answer.

The Leviton isn't hardwired? Or, does it simply include a backup battery?
 
  #6  
Old 01-10-16, 05:08 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 38
  #7  
Old 01-10-16, 06:24 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 38
Well I bought the Leviton one so I hope that it's compatible and works. Thanks all!
 
  #8  
Old 01-10-16, 11:51 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,182
Yes.... the Leviton is hardwired. The battery is for backup.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes