Switch Stopped Working

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-14-16, 09:51 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Switch Stopped Working

My garage light switch stopped working. ALL REMAINING circuits/lights, etc in my entire house work fine.
WHen I put the tester to the bare wires (both black ??) it flickers. Help
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-14-16, 10:25 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,052
When I put the tester to the bare wires (both black ??) it flickers.
If it is a non contact tester it means nothing. They can't be used for real testing. If it is a multimeter the switch isn't where you test. How can the wires be bare if they are black? Do you mean the wires connected to the switch?

Please explain what you mean by:
My garage light switch stopped working
Does the light stay on all the time or do you mean the light doesn't come on? How many total wires in the switch box and how are they connected.
 
  #3  
Old 01-14-16, 10:58 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 2
O K THis is the switch to my garage over head lights. It's worked for 12 years
and has stopped. When I pulled off the cover and pulled the switch out,
there were two BLACK wires attached. Not what I expected to see.
I unscrewed the wires and put my tester to them and got nothing.
I checked the tester all over the house and it works fine. It's just a cheap one.

I had disconnected the smoke alarm in the living room. I reconnected it
went to garage and put tester on wires and it FLICKERED this time
in the 110 window.
 
  #4  
Old 01-14-16, 11:43 AM
Handyone's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,451
I had disconnected the smoke alarm in the living room.
If you disconnected the alarm from the house wiring, you might have made a mistake in that box.

Was the alarm hard wired?
 
  #5  
Old 01-14-16, 11:56 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,588
Often time the circuit will feed to other parts of the house. If you disconnect a hot in the smoke alarm you may have killed the outgoing power to the garage.

You need to test from hot to ground or hot to neutral.
 
  #6  
Old 01-14-16, 12:07 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,052
I checked the tester all over the house and it works fine.
If it is a non contact tester that proves nothing. Their primary problem is false positives. Actually even with a multimeter testing across the switch accomplishes little in the way of identifying the problem.

Using a multimeter, preferably analog, (or a neon light tester, or a solenoid tester) measure from ground to each black wire. If there is no ground there should be two white wires connected together. Measure to those. Best to disconnect the two black wires when testing.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes