Replacing electric heaters

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-15-16, 08:58 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Starkville, MS
Posts: 166
Replacing electric heaters

I am intending to replace 2 bathroom heaters in our house built in 1957. It appears that they have not worked in a long time, we have been in the house for a year. In the crawlspace, the wires look fine and there is electricity to them. My question/ concern is if the wires are somehow compromised, am I increasing any danger by having a load on the wires. I assume the electricity has been live to the heaters since 1957.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-15-16, 09:12 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: port chester n y
Posts: 2,117
Are these "flush" or surface-mounted heating-units ?
 
  #3  
Old 01-15-16, 10:17 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Starkville, MS
Posts: 166
They were and are going to be surface mounted. Almost the exact fit.
 
  #4  
Old 01-15-16, 10:34 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,055
In the crawlspace, the wires look fine and there is electricity to them.
Wires can't be used outside of a raceway. Do you mean cable? If you used a non contact tester to determine you have power that is not an adequate test. If cables what is the size marked? What will the amps of the replacement heaters be?
 
  #5  
Old 01-15-16, 01:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Starkville, MS
Posts: 166
Sorry for the error, it is original cable. I had an electrician change out the panel from fuses to breakers and he informed me that the lines were live. He did turn off the breakers about a year ago to each heater. He said it all looked like #12. The new heater is 8.33 amps. I just didn't know if adding the load could be dangerous. Thank you for your help.
 
  #6  
Old 01-15-16, 02:27 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,221
You want to connect a heater to a dedicated cable. That shouldn't be any problem.

You do need to know if that is a 120v or 240v circuit there.
A 120v circuit would be utilize and single breaker while a 240v circuit would require a two pole breaker.

A heater using 8.33A could be a 120v 1000 watt heater. That on a single 20A circuit would be fine.
 
  #7  
Old 01-15-16, 02:59 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Starkville, MS
Posts: 166
Thank you for all the input. The question I am still just a little concerned about is if a live cable has a load added to it, is there additional danger. Since that cable was presumable live from 1957-2015, but who knows when the original load was ended (heater quit working), should there be any concern with adding a load back to it?
 
  #8  
Old 01-15-16, 03:03 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,221
should there be any concern with adding a load back to it?
Not at all. If the cable physically looks to be in good shape there should be no issues.
 
  #9  
Old 01-15-16, 03:18 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Starkville, MS
Posts: 166
Thank you, makes me feel better.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes