Why won't you turn on?!

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-20-16, 01:30 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 1
Why won't you turn on?!

Ive started home automating my apartment and already have several WeMo and Smartthings products, so Im no stranger when it comes to updating a light switch, etc.

I recently tried to replace a two gang switch box in my kitchen... with great failure. The first night I sat there for 13 hours straight trying to figure out why the WeMo switch would not control the lights. 3 days later, here I am.

Here is a photo of where I'm currently at. Can anyone please assist? Hiring an electrician is a last resort.Name:  IMG_0829.jpg
Views: 111
Size:  40.7 KB

2 devices I'm trying to wire are belkin demo light switch
 

Last edited by Joe Fraijo; 01-20-16 at 02:44 AM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-20-16, 02:08 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,084
Welcome to the forums.

So that we don't have to guess...... please post the model numbers for the switches you are using.
 
  #3  
Old 01-20-16, 05:45 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,587
Did you mess with any of the splices? Can you describe how the lights are not working ? Do they simply not come on?
 
  #4  
Old 01-20-16, 06:30 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3,314
Can you be sure you are communicating with the switches?
 
  #5  
Old 01-20-16, 06:33 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,444
Switches

Please do not be offended, but did you remember to remove the insulation on the wires before making the connections?
 
  #6  
Old 01-20-16, 03:21 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 911
What does it do or not do?
Does WeMo get power at all?
Can you turn on from WeMo switch or just not working on your smart phone or PC?

Could you take more close up picture or spread wires bit more. It is hard to tell which black wires go where.

As far as wiring is concerned, it is very easy to wire. 2 Black wires coming from WeMo switch is basically a relay connection. Just have to connect those 2 wires to the same wires came off regular switch.

From what I see in the picture, it looks like 1 black wires from both switches are connected to 3rd orange wire nut. If so, that should be always hot.
But then, 1st orange wire nut (small one with paint) appears to be connected to more than 1 black wire. Very confused what goes where.
 
  #7  
Old 01-20-16, 07:34 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,379
Ive started home automating my apartment
So, you rent this apartment?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes