Checking to see if this is possible and how to.

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-24-16, 05:43 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
Question Checking to see if this is possible and how to.

Name:  wiring.jpg
Views: 196
Size:  17.6 KB

The picture above is the current set up of wires in the wall. I am trying to add a three way switch in my garage above my work table and have the ability to turn off the light on/off at the table itself and at the door leaving the garage. I want the switches to just control the light and the other outlets to have constant power.

rough draw of wires, white = grey is white and didn't bother drawing grounds
just seeing if someone could throw image in paint and just connect the lines....:\ thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-24-16, 06:02 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Welcome to the forums! This is one rendering of the wiring. Others may have different starting and stopping points.

Name:  threee.jpg
Views: 175
Size:  40.7 KB
 
  #3  
Old 01-24-16, 06:12 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,512
I'm guessing one of the two switches shown in your diagram is the new one. Unfortunately I think Larry misunderstood you. Your diagram is of the existing wire that you have in place.

You don't have enough wires to add a three way switch. You need a hot wire, two travelers and a neutral. You only have three wires.

You may be able to add an electronic switch that only requires two wires between the two switches.
 
  #4  
Old 01-24-16, 06:50 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
Name:  wiring2.jpg
Views: 209
Size:  28.3 KB

Yeah I was thinking I was out of luck not having both traveller wires and neutral dedicated to the switches. Fourth wire would of worked . All the wire is basically new, I had just ran some of it due to replacing some pre existing aluminium wire. The 3way switch was an after thought. Just figured I would pop on here to see if I was missing something.

Here is the new plan, thanks for the responses guys.
 
  #5  
Old 01-24-16, 07:03 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,991
I like the new plan.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'