AFCI breaker questions

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-25-16, 06:04 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 131
AFCI breaker questions

Planning on doing the electrical soon in my basement. I've done wiring before but never added a new circuit.

1) In terms of the AFCI, does it act the same as a regular breaker (breaks if too much current flows through) as well as breaking if it detects an arc? In other words it's a better version of the regular breaker?

2) With that being said, should I make a new circuit using an AFCI?

3) I plan on having a circuit for my lights (~8-10 fixtures, 2 bulbs each max of 60W) and a separate circuit for my receptacles (~15 of them). For the lights based on the current being drawn I believe a 15 amp circuit will do. Correct? For the receptacles should I wire a 20 amp circuit?


Thanks for the help!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-25-16, 06:13 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 4,243
Yes it will still trip on an over load.
15 amp. 14-2 wires fine for lights.
I've been wiring outlets with 12-2 wire and 20 amp. breakers for many years.
Less chance of over loads if someone plugs in a space heater, A/C, Ect.
 
  #3  
Old 01-25-16, 06:39 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,399
I'm pretty sure that under the Canadian Electrical Code (CEC) there is a maximum number of receptacles allowed per circuit. Ten comes to mind but I could easily be wrong about that number. I personally would split that many receptacles into at least two circuits.
 
  #4  
Old 01-25-16, 06:58 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 131
I'll find out about the number from a friend. I do have 3 spare breaker spots but would like to have a spare one.
 
  #5  
Old 01-25-16, 07:02 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 131
Just got informed, it's 12 receptacles on a 15 amp breaker.
 
  #6  
Old 01-25-16, 08:53 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,594
I believe lighting in Canada is limiTed to a 15 amp circuit .
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes