AFCI breaker questions

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-25-16, 06:04 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 131
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
AFCI breaker questions

Planning on doing the electrical soon in my basement. I've done wiring before but never added a new circuit.

1) In terms of the AFCI, does it act the same as a regular breaker (breaks if too much current flows through) as well as breaking if it detects an arc? In other words it's a better version of the regular breaker?

2) With that being said, should I make a new circuit using an AFCI?

3) I plan on having a circuit for my lights (~8-10 fixtures, 2 bulbs each max of 60W) and a separate circuit for my receptacles (~15 of them). For the lights based on the current being drawn I believe a 15 amp circuit will do. Correct? For the receptacles should I wire a 20 amp circuit?


Thanks for the help!
 
  #2  
Old 01-25-16, 06:13 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 4,855
Received 83 Votes on 78 Posts
Yes it will still trip on an over load.
15 amp. 14-2 wires fine for lights.
I've been wiring outlets with 12-2 wire and 20 amp. breakers for many years.
Less chance of over loads if someone plugs in a space heater, A/C, Ect.
 
  #3  
Old 01-25-16, 06:39 AM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,495
Received 36 Votes on 28 Posts
I'm pretty sure that under the Canadian Electrical Code (CEC) there is a maximum number of receptacles allowed per circuit. Ten comes to mind but I could easily be wrong about that number. I personally would split that many receptacles into at least two circuits.
 
  #4  
Old 01-25-16, 06:58 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 131
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'll find out about the number from a friend. I do have 3 spare breaker spots but would like to have a spare one.
 
  #5  
Old 01-25-16, 07:02 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 131
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Just got informed, it's 12 receptacles on a 15 amp breaker.
 
  #6  
Old 01-25-16, 08:53 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,218
Received 103 Votes on 89 Posts
I believe lighting in Canada is limiTed to a 15 amp circuit .
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: