Range outlet so far...

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-03-16, 03:11 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 14
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Range outlet so far...

Ok iv'e gotten this far and would like some advice. This is a range junction box/outlet install using 6-3 wire, 50 amp breaker. Looking for tips on the ground connection to metal box, how much wire should I strip back.

Thanks
Patrick
Name:  IMG_2319.JPG
Views: 486
Size:  33.5 KB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-03-16, 03:41 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,965
Received 59 Votes on 52 Posts
First off you need more wire in the box. I would suggest at least 6-8" of free conductor hanging out. The outside jacket should be striped back so there is at least 1/4" inside the box.

Second, you just need to connect the bare ground wire to the metal box using either a grounding pigtail, or just a green ground screw. If you use the screw method, loop the ground wire around the screw and leave the end free to connect to the range receptacle.
Examples:
Ground screw: Ideal Combo Grounding Screw (10-Card)-774042 - The Home Depot
Ground pigtail: Ideal 12 AWG Solid Pigtail with Screw - Green (50-Pack)-30-3392R - The Home Depot

I also suggest installing a 2 gang mudring for ease of wiring and installation of the receptacle.

Screw goes in the green circled hole:
Name:  box.jpg
Views: 1689
Size:  23.0 KB
 
  #3  
Old 02-03-16, 04:50 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,941
Received 30 Votes on 26 Posts
Is that box 1 1/2" deep or 2 1/8"? It should be a deep box with a 5/8" 2 gang plaster ring.
 
  #4  
Old 02-03-16, 04:51 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,941
Received 30 Votes on 26 Posts
I really hope you have extra cable to slide into the box. The code requires at least 6" of free conductor in the box.
 
  #5  
Old 02-03-16, 11:35 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,083
Received 372 Votes on 349 Posts
You should use the deepest box you can find. Those range receptacles are deep and the wires are hard to bend.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: