Upgrading non-grounded bathroom receptacle

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-06-16, 04:25 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 486
Upgrading non-grounded bathroom receptacle

Does upgrading a non-grounded 2 prong bathroom receptacle require new wiring to be run?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-06-16, 04:33 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,040
If metal conduit was used you probably have a good ground but if old style Bx cable without a bond strip was used your ground is at best questionable. If it is K&T or NM cable without ground you do not have a ground. You can install a GFCI even though there is no ground. It increases personal safety and is code compliant for a grandfathered circuit but does not provide a ground.
 
  #3  
Old 02-06-16, 04:37 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
You can't install a new three wire receptacle to a circuit with only two wires unless it is so noted on the cover plate that there is no ground. NOW, since it is in a bathroom, you could essentially wire the GFCI in (which is required). They don't necessarily need a ground to operate, since the work off the differential of current between the hot and neutral to trip and protect personnel. You would still need to use one of the stickers that come with the GFCI that indicate there is no ground, however.

Upgrading will require new wiring, but replacement of the receptacle will not. Bathrooms are required to be on their own 20 amp circuit and use 12 gauge wiring. If either of these criteria is not met, then you will need to bite the bullet and rewire it completely.

Ray types faster than me.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes