Spitting my 200amp Service from the Pole

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-07-16, 11:37 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Spitting my 200amp Service from the Pole

Okay, no wires ran yet. I have my cabin wired up and have a 100amp panel in it but nothing ran from the pole to the cabin yet. At the pole there is a 200amp service. My old place I just ran off one side giving me a 100amp and the other 100 amp I ran to the shop, so basically 2 sets of wires.

This time I am hoping there is a way to run a single 200 amp wire (4wire) run and at some point split it into 2 100 amp supplies, one to the cabin and one for a later date. Thought maybe have the ability to maybe have an RV hook up fot a buddy for later with the left over 100amp service.

Is this doable or just cheaper to run the two 100amp supply lines, one to the cabin and the other leave disconnected until ready to use?
 

Last edited by James Steig; 02-07-16 at 11:38 AM. Reason: Splitting not Spitting, lol
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-07-16, 11:51 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,427
Received 1,020 Votes on 946 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

So what's on the power pole now..... any panels ?
 
  #3  
Old 02-07-16, 04:35 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,638
Received 83 Votes on 73 Posts
At the pole there is a 200amp service.
The best thing to do is replace the 200A disconnect at the service with a NEMA 3R Raintight 200A main breaker panel and install two 2-pole 100A breakers and two separate 100A 4-wire feeders.

IF you choose to install a 200A 4-wire feeder and split it into two 100A feeders at some point, the feeder wires will all have to be 200A rated all the way to each 100A load because they are being protected by the 200A breaker at the service disconnect. This also presents an issue of long term reliability of an underground splice.
 
  #4  
Old 02-07-16, 06:19 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,590
Received 200 Votes on 178 Posts
My old place I just ran off one side giving me a 100amp and the other 100 amp I ran to the shop
Not really sire what you mean "one side"?? You only ran a 120 volt feeder? If so that was not correct because you would have still ran a 200 amp 120 volt feeder.

I agree with Joe, install an outdoor 200 amp panel and run 2 100 amp feeders. It will be easier and likely cheaper to boot.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: