Running conduit inside the ceiling

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-07-16, 05:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: chicago
Posts: 9
Running conduit inside the ceiling

Hi there,

I hope this is the correct subforum, it was between this and the light fixture one

Anyway, Im trying to add/replace some of my lighting in the house with recessed can lights. I figured I need to add about half dozen lights so I have a few questions.

Per code I am required to run all the 110v in conduit which isn't a big deal, where I run into trouble is going across the joists to the locations where I want the new lights installed.

Currently the boxes are roughly in the middle of the room and I want them in the corners. I have a conventional 2x12 joist system and I was planning on running 1/2 conduit.

1. Can someone point me to some recommendations as far as hole placement and maximum size?
2. How much bigger do you guys make the holes then the actual conduit and how difficult is it to wedge it in there?
3. Another option i was considering is using a AC/DC converter(LED lighting) at the current box locations and running low voltage wires to each can light. Any ideas if that's even feasible?

Thanks for your help.
Tom
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-07-16, 05:42 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,189
Where do you live ? Any attic above ?
Does it have to be conduit ? There is always metal clad cables.

Running conduit thru joists is almost impossible. It's not even easy to run parallel to them.
 
  #3  
Old 02-07-16, 05:59 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 571
Expanding on what PJ said, unless you're in an area that mandates conduit you don't want to be using it! Most places that mandate conduit will allow metal clad cables in most circumstances. That isn't easy to run but certainly easier than conduit. Hopefully you're not in the Chicago area so you don't have to use conduit.
 
  #4  
Old 02-07-16, 06:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: chicago
Posts: 9
Im in naperville, I need to look up code for MC I guess. This is between ground and first floor. I already ran all the stuff in the attic. That part was easy

Thanks guys for your help
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes