Replace sub panel -what type of panel should I buy?

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-16-16, 02:39 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Replace sub panel -what type of panel should I buy?

I'm a little confused on the different types of panels out there. What is the difference between "Main Breaker" and "Main Lug" panels? Which should I get to replace my sub panel?

In 2011 I had a new Main Panel added and my old panel became a sub panel. My entire 1500 sq ft house was on just 8 breakers at the time. The new main panel is 125A the old panel is 70A. The two panels are connected by a 600v conduit.

I have moved most of my circuits to the new panel as I remodeled my house (yeah for grounded outlets!) The sub panel will be used for my kitchen remodel since it is right outside the kitchen. I may need more than 8 breakers if I do dedicated breakers for each appliance, so I want to replace the sub panel with a 10 to 12 breaker one. I'm also concerned that the old breakers aren't grounded, so I don't want to use them with new wire. Name:  image.jpg
Views: 384
Size:  17.9 KBName:  image.jpg
Views: 427
Size:  41.3 KBName:  image.jpg
Views: 410
Size:  41.1 KBName:  image.jpg
Views: 567
Size:  50.7 KB

What should I be getting? Is there a limit to the amp size base on the conduit load? I'll post pictures of what I have in case that helps.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-16-16, 07:40 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 914
Main lug is simply breaker panel without main breaker. You don't need main breaker in sub panel if it is within same building.
Your current sub panel is main lug.

You can simply get a main lug load center with 12 breaker space and move everything over. Your existing panel is grounded. Bus bar at the bottom is ground bus bar. (where bare copper wires are attached.)
When you install new panel, do not bond neutral and ground. Usually there is a ground bolt through neutral bus bar and many panels don't come bonded (either have bolt backed out or not installed)

You will also have to purchase ground bus bar as most panels don't come with one. It will be attached inside breaker panel on to the metal box it self.

I see that you also have a thick aluminum cable. You have have to apply anti-oxidant compound/grease to the wire before installing.
What is that wire for?

Your feeder cable to sub panel is 4/3 NB-B, so maximum load you can have in the sub panel is 70A.
 
  #3  
Old 02-16-16, 08:42 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,587
Your panels are connected by a cable with insulation rated for up to 600 volts.

A main breaker panel is one with a breaker to turn off the entire panel. You can use one, but it is not needed if it is in the same building as your service panel. The panel needs to be rated the same or higher than the breaker feeding it.

Anti-oxidant is a good practice, but is not required by code.

Breakers are not grounded. Wiring methods and devices are grounded.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes