Wire gauge requirements for 9 amp dryer (240V)

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-19-16, 08:55 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 123
Wire gauge requirements for 9 amp dryer (240V)

I probably should have gotten 10g wire, but I was being cheap.
A neighbour gave me a washer/dryer...Samsung. The dryer plate says 9amp/240V. I'm thinking 10/3 wire is overkill. The breaker they had for the dryer was a double pole 15amp breaker. Sooo, I am thinking, I can get away with 12/3?
If any pro could let me know how wrong I am, please let me know..I am up in Canada.
Oh yeah, 16ft run...
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-19-16, 09:06 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,065
Since you have 12-3 use a 20 amp breaker you should be fine... except for the cord and receptacle. No 20 amp 4-wire receptacle that I know but weather you can use a 30 amp receptacle I don't know. Guess you could hard wire it. (If you hard wire a disconnect may be needed.)
 
  #3  
Old 02-19-16, 09:35 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,265
Interesting appliance..... does it currently have a cord on it ?
I don't recognize the low amperage draw in a washer/dryer combo.
 
  #4  
Old 02-19-16, 11:13 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,065
Please give us the make and model number.
 
  #5  
Old 02-20-16, 12:09 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 123
Samsung DV4008J
Definitely said 9amp/240V on back.
I figured I'd go with same double pole 15 amp breaker as what was used at neighbours.
 
  #6  
Old 02-20-16, 12:32 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,265
Ok... you don't have a combo unit. I misunderstood you. You've got a light duty electric dryer.
 
  #7  
Old 02-20-16, 01:25 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 123
Yeah, the previous receptacle was a standard one, as I helped install new one (a monster). The one thing that mystified me was the low amperage double pole breaker 15amp. I should look into that for their new dryer...make sure they have enough power. I used their new laundry setup without any issues...maybe dryers are not the amp sucking beasts they used to be... I recall older ones needed 30amp breakers.
 
  #8  
Old 02-20-16, 10:07 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 123
So, to clarify guys, I am ok with a double pole 15amp breaker on 16ft of 12/3?

It sounds reasonable, for if I had 12/2 on a 20amp breaker I'd be perfectly legal. It's just that I got discombobulated when I was doing my main line from electrical shed. In that case, the inspector, who told the electrician, spec'd 400amp splitter boxes (I was using two parallel runs of 250MCM ACWU to minimize voltage drop). I had 200amp main service panel (100ft near road), with a 150amp breaker servicing the 250ft run up to future house (temp kiosk there now).
 
  #9  
Old 02-20-16, 11:10 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,265
A dryer with a smaller heating element will take longer to dry clothes than the larger power hungry model. Usually the smaller duty dryers are used for dorms and apartments where the cleaning loads are smaller.

I don't see an issue using 12/3 cable with a 15A breaker.
 
  #10  
Old 02-20-16, 12:46 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,065
Pete, just for my curiosity is that 4-wire? If so wouldn't you have to use a NEMA 14-30? Would that be code on a 15 amp circuit. Or is it syraight 240 that can be used on a 6-15.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes