Is upgrading to a high amp panel hard.

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-23-16, 10:31 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ca
Posts: 227
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is upgrading to a high amp panel hard.

I have a 100 amp panel and would like to upgrade to a higher amp panel. Maybe a 150 or 200 amp panel. Does the Power company have to do anything (besides pulling and reinstalling the meter) or is it just a matter of replacing the cables from the meter to the new panel?

skeeter
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-23-16, 10:50 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
If you have an overhead drop you will usually need to up size the wires that feed the meter socket (the ones that connect to the power company drop), (maybe) the meter socket, and the wires from the meter socket to the panel.
 
  #3  
Old 02-23-16, 11:10 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ca
Posts: 227
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
From the meter to the street and down to the end of the street it's all under ground.
 
  #4  
Old 02-24-16, 12:39 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ca
Posts: 227
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So having to upgrade to a higher panel will the power company have to pull new heavier cables underground to accommodate a larger panel? Does anyone know a ballpark figure of what that would cost?
 
  #5  
Old 02-24-16, 01:09 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4,155
Received 87 Votes on 81 Posts
Call the power company to find out how far you can upgrade the panel and keeping their existing service cable.
 
  #6  
Old 02-24-16, 05:32 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,700
Received 92 Votes on 82 Posts
From the meter to the street and down to the end of the street it's all under ground.
Most power companies will size their service lateral according to calculated load and not the size of the service. Unless you are adding a significant new load (like all electric heat), the chances are very good that the power company will do nothing except disconnect and reconnect after they get the wiring approval from the AHJ.
 
  #7  
Old 02-24-16, 05:50 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,174
Received 92 Votes on 79 Posts
Before you go wasting money, why do you think you should have a larger service? Are you adding additional large loads or adding an addition?
 
  #8  
Old 02-24-16, 06:26 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,450
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Around here, and probably in your area, the power company will come out and do a power check up free of charge.
The POCO needs to come out regardless because a work order from them is required to apply for a permit. They will let you know of any fees, maybe there are none.

The permit is usually issued over the counter, around $300 would be a guess.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: