stranded ground wire or solid 12G


  #1  
Old 02-27-16, 07:34 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 224
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
stranded ground wire or solid 12G

hello
using 12 gauge wire..
i am wiring some outlets in a basement, two duplex in a standard 4" square x 2" deep box. i am grounding the box using the bare copper by wrapping it around the screw and leaving enough wire on the other end to pigtail another 2 grounding connectors for the outlets.

is it OK to use 12G stranded for the outlets pig-tailed to the main bare solid grounding wire? i only ask because as you know its a real pain to comfortably arrange the wires for fit even though i am using a raised cover. the other concern i have is that the stranded always "squash" under the terminal screw.

thanks
 
  #2  
Old 02-27-16, 07:50 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4,931
Received 215 Votes on 198 Posts
You can use any number or combination or sequence or juxtaposition of rabbit ears or pigtails or wire nuts or solid conductors or stranded conductors when connecting together the various items that need grounding in a box.

Twist the strands a little more to reduce the squashing under the terminal screw.

Do not wrap the wire end so far around the screw that the wire crosses over itself while under the screw.
 
  #3  
Old 02-27-16, 08:15 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,188
Received 2,982 Votes on 2,690 Posts
Your choice.... solid or stranded.
Solid may be a little harder to work into the box but it's easier to attach to a device.
 
  #4  
Old 02-27-16, 11:17 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 224
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
is it common practice to use a crimp connector on the stranded end that attaches to the outlet?
 
  #5  
Old 02-27-16, 11:42 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,389
Received 148 Votes on 131 Posts
Not really as it adds an extra step, but it can be done.
 
  #6  
Old 02-28-16, 05:37 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,967
Received 597 Votes on 512 Posts
using the bare copper by wrapping it around the screw
Make sure to ground the box using a green ground screw attached to the taped hole of the box. Just attaching the wire to the ground screw of the device is not acceptable.
 
  #7  
Old 03-05-16, 01:10 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 224
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
yes..
the ground wire coming into the box always gets looped around the boxes taped hole, the pigtails come after that
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: