New 4 bulb ballast - only 2 positions work at a time

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-02-16, 06:37 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
New 4 bulb ballast - only 2 positions work at a time

Hi Guys,


I am a homeowner with DIY experience and had luck replacing a 4 bulb fluorescent with 2 ballasts with one 4 bulb ballast. When I repeated the same procedure with the second identical fixture and identical ballast only two out of the 4 positions will burn at a time.
What’s strange is that it can be any two positions - just not all 4 together.
I checked and rechecked my wiring it all looks correct and identical to the first fixture that working.

Any suggestions?


Cheers!
Sam
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-02-16, 07:32 AM
Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,138
Make sure you don't have a bad lamp. Other than that, I would suspect you got a bad ballast.
 
  #3  
Old 03-02-16, 07:48 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,657
I checked and rechecked my wiring it all looks correct and identical to the first fixture that working.
Just to eliminate a possibility be sure your wiring matches the actual diagram on the ballast. There could be differences in wire color between the two fixtures. You should never use the previous wiring as a guide. You should always use the diagram on the new ballast and remember colors may vary so you need to connect by location shown on diagram not colors.
 
  #4  
Old 03-02-16, 10:04 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
I checked the wiring and the diagram they are identical as they both ballasts are identical as well.
 
  #5  
Old 03-02-16, 10:12 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,477
Then that only leaves a defective ballast.

A partially defective electronic ballast is pretty rare. I've found that an electronic ballast either works or it's dead.

You said your wiring is correct. Did you actually check right back to the tube sockets ?
 
  #6  
Old 03-02-16, 01:05 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Update:

Its not the ballast. I switched the ballasts (one that was working in non working fixture and had the same problem, one that wasn't working is fine in the other fixture).

PJmax - What should I be looking for behind the tube sockets?

Thanks!
Sam
 
  #7  
Old 03-02-16, 01:19 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 781
You need to check the connection of wires at tombstones and or check the lamps by switching lamps around.
 
  #8  
Old 03-02-16, 04:42 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Solved

Thanks pattenp!

I unscrewed the tombstones and saw that two wires were crossed.

Thanks everyone for your help.


Sam
 
  #9  
Old 03-02-16, 05:14 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,477
With your old ballast it probably wasn't critical. It was with an electronic ballast.

Thanks for letting us know how you made out.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'