70 amp breaker and 1/0 aluminium wire

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-03-16, 01:35 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 188
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
70 amp breaker and 1/0 aluminium wire

Just wondering if a 70 amp breaker, will accept 1/0 wire? There are two breakers.
a Murray MP 70 amp breaker, and a Homeline 70 amp breaker. I've seen most product descriptions list the wires sizes between 8 AWG to 2 AWG, and actual Murray literature that shows wire size up to 2/0 AWG. I'm inclined to believe Murray, but wanted to see what any of you say. The wire is large, do to the distance from the main panel, and any possible future upgrades. Thanks for your help. John.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-03-16, 01:36 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
You can always pigtail down to a size the breaker accepts.
 
  #3  
Old 03-03-16, 01:55 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,273
Received 37 Votes on 31 Posts
Square D Homeline 70A is listed to take up to a #2. With #1/0 you can go larger than 70A. The Homeline 80A takes up to #2/0. What's your reason to go with just a 70A on #1/0?
 
  #4  
Old 03-03-16, 02:44 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Pat asked:
What's your reason to go with just a 70A on #1/0?
Nilzlofgren previously explained:
The wire is large, do to the distance from the main panel
Nilzlofgren, what is the distance?
 
  #5  
Old 03-03-16, 03:31 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 188
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The distance is 240 feet. I have the wire, but haven't bought the breakers yet. I could buy 80 amp breakers, but Ive already received my permit. Not sure how critical of a change that would be. Guess I could call the inspector.
 
  #6  
Old 03-03-16, 03:57 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 55,171
Received 590 Votes on 555 Posts
1/0 aluminum is rated for at least 120A. You could use a 100A breaker with no issues.

As long as your breaker is under the ampacity of the wire.... the inspector should have no issues either.
 
  #7  
Old 03-03-16, 04:46 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,017
Received 42 Votes on 37 Posts
Just remember that if the hots are upsized for any reason, like distance, the EGC must be increased by the same percentage.
 
  #8  
Old 03-03-16, 06:51 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,355
Received 47 Votes on 38 Posts
There are two breakers. a Murray MP 70 amp breaker, and a Homeline 70 amp breaker.
What kind of panel is this? A Murray breaker isn't UL Listed to be used in a Homeline panel and a Homeline breaker isn't UL Listed to be used in a Murray panel. If the inspector knows his stuff, you have a problem.
 
  #9  
Old 03-04-16, 02:56 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 188
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The panel in the house is a Murray. The panel in the Pole barn is a Homeline.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: