NEMA 14-30P Dryer Receptacle

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-04-16, 03:12 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: PE, Canada
Posts: 98
NEMA 14-30P Dryer Receptacle

I'm replacing a 20+ year old dryer. The receptacle appears to be a NEMA 14-30P with two 30 Amp breakers. Do receptacles change? Has the NEMA 14-30P remained the same for longer than 20 years? It seems reasonable to assume a standard is a standard but the cost of that assumption would be very high if incorrect. Can I safely plug a new dyer into the receptacle?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-04-16, 04:54 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 379
The NEMA 14 30P and matching receptacle 30R are the present ones to use with the dryer. It is a 3 pole 4 wire set up.

You can go here and see if the plug/receptacle match what you have. Keep in mind the configuration is different for all 120 240 and amp rated plug/receptacles for the reason that they can not be used incorrectly. Does not mean that the wires being used are correct but only that the plug will only match the receptacle.

I do not know what the codes are in Canada though.
 
  #3  
Old 03-04-16, 08:29 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 905
with two 30 Amp breakers
I hope that's one 30A double pole breaker instead of two individual 30A single pole breakers.
 
  #4  
Old 03-04-16, 09:21 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: PE, Canada
Posts: 98
Thanks AFJES for the plug/receptacle chart.

pattenp:
Can one 30A double pole breaker be two singles fastened together on the switch toggles? That is what is in place presently.
 
  #5  
Old 03-04-16, 10:16 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 905
Can one 30A double pole breaker be two singles fastened together on the switch toggles? That is what is in place presently.
Are you sure it's actually two separate breakers with a handle tie? It may look like two breakers but actually be acting as one with two fastened together with rivets. It needs to be a double pole common trip because the breaker provides a line-to-line load. Two singles tied together by a handle tie is not common trip. Common trip means that both legs will be simultaneously disconnected under an overload.
 
  #6  
Old 03-04-16, 12:58 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: PE, Canada
Posts: 98
I am completely uncertain. It ran a Kenmore dryer previously and has a 30R receptacle as described in the link provided by AFJES. I will see if I can find the specs on the Kenmore.

Thanks
 
  #7  
Old 03-04-16, 02:10 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,515
The brand of the dryer doesn't matter. When you connect the dryer to the house you put on the correct cord to match the receptacle you have available. The old style dryer plug is 11-30R and the new style is 14-30R. The code changed around the mid-1990s If you have an 11-30R in your house you may continue to use it, but if you add a new dryer circuit or move the existing one it must be upgraded to the new standard 14-30R.

When you hook up your new dryer, buy the cord (or take the cord off the old one) and put it on the new dryer. The manufacturer should provide instructions for connecting a 3 wire or a 4 wire cord. It will require you to either disconnect or connect a neutral bonding strap inside the dryer's wiring compartment.
 
  #8  
Old 03-05-16, 05:08 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: PE, Canada
Posts: 98
Thanks ibpooks. The dryer was purchased in 1992 (I think) and according to the chart is a 14-30R and not a 11-30R, as those seem to be the only likely options, all seems good to go.
 
  #9  
Old 03-05-16, 09:31 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,065
according to the chart is a 14-30R and not a 11-30R,
Check the manual of the new dryer to see if you need to unbond a ground wire or if it comes ready for a 4-wire cord set.
 
  #10  
Old 03-06-16, 02:33 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: PE, Canada
Posts: 98
The manual states machines sold in Canada have the plug installed so I'll trust they haven't changed the standards. Thanks ray2047.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes