What is reactive energy?

Old 03-04-16, 05:08 AM
What is reactive energy?

Our electric bill just came and as always included measurement from the two wheels on the meter. The main one and the second which measures something called reactive energy.

The consumption was off the chart compared to the previous two month period and most of that was in the second reading which has always been lower.

Checking the utility website when the ratio of the two readings exceeds a certain amount you're billed for reactive energy at approximately 2x the rate per kwh as normal electricity.

So could someone explain to me what it is? Why its so expensive and how to reduce it relative to total use?

Sponsored Links
Old 03-04-16, 05:23 AM
Good morning Esand,
I'm not a top pro on electrical power and will be waiting to see how they sort this out. From what I know, power is a measure of voltage times amperage and with a non-reactive load those two are in phase. With a reactive load the phase has shifted so multiplying the twp together no longer provides a true measure of the power being consumed. If you are running a lot of motors where the current and voltage are not perfectly in phase then they want to increase the reading to be paid for the actual power. As for what equipment is responsible for the shift your meter is recording, tell us what is being powered.

Also, where are you, I see non-us but the pros may want to know if that is Canada or Australia.

Bud

Old 03-04-16, 06:37 AM
Alternating current does not jump to 120 volts and 1/120 second later jump to minus 120 volts and 1/120 second later jump back to (plus) 120 volts and so on. Rather it gradually rises (and overshoots 120 which is another and OT program) and gradually goes down to overshoot minus 120 etc.

Non-motorized e.g. infrared heaters and incandescet lights are pure resistive (non-reactive) loads. For every microsecond, the amperes drawn equals the volts at that moment divided by the resistance of the load.