Taking an existing outlet off a switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-05-16, 11:35 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 1
Taking an existing outlet off a switch

I'm trying to take an existing outlet off a switch. My goal is to place the new philips hue dimmer switch that I got over top of the existing outlet so that no one kills the power to my hue lights or other devices I have plugged into the switch inadvertently.

This is what the outlet looks like:



This is what the switch looks like:



I tried taking the switch out and capping off both of the wires, but that killed the power to the outlet. I'm hoping this isn't just a shoddy wiring job and that there isn't a connection in the wall somewhere. What can I do to troubleshoot the problem? Is there a way I can check the voltage of the wires to figure out what's what?

Please and thank you for the help.
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-05-16, 11:49 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,093
Remove the black wire from the switch and cap it off by itself.

Undo the wire nut with the black and white wires and attach this black wire to the outlet (receptacle).

Cap off the loose white wire by itself.
 
  #3  
Old 03-05-16, 12:34 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,045
If there is no overhead light removing the switch may be a code violation. You could make it half switched.
 
  #4  
Old 03-06-16, 05:10 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 914
It probably is easier to just undo both wires from the switch and wire nut the together.

As ray said, it may be a code violation and it will be easier to undo the connection at the switch later when you move out.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes