Issue when replacing dimmer on 3-way switch settup

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-07-16, 02:15 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Issue when replacing dimmer on 3-way switch settup

Hi, so I have an odd situation and I am looking for some guidance on. I was replacing an existing dimmer switch that controls 4 flood lights in my 2nd floor hallway. The dimmer switch is located on the second floor, it is an older style round nob dimmer that had a backlight (dimmer would have a slight orange back-light when the hall lights were off). There is a second 3-way switch at the other end of the 2nd floor hall. On the first floor, there are two 3-way switches that also control these second floor lights. Before I replaced the dimmer switch, you could turn the lights off/on by activating any of the 4 switches. I purchased a new leviton 3-way capable dimmer, and I installed it by re-wiring exactly the way the old dimmer was wired. Everything seems to work, including being able to dim the lights...HOWEVER, if the dimmer switch is off, I now cannot turn the lights on from any of the other three switches. Before I replaced the old dimmer, even if the dimmer switch was off (and the backlight was glowing), we could flip any of the other 3 switches and the lights would turn on. Any suggestions????
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-07-16, 02:49 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,066
I installed it by re-wiring exactly the way the old dimmer was wired.
That isn't always the correct way. Position or color of common can vary. You can't use the old switch as a guide except to determine which house wire is common. A second factor is some 3-way dimmers will only work with slaves not regular 3-way or 4-way switches. What is the make and model number of the new switch?
 
  #3  
Old 03-07-16, 04:10 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,595
You have a traveler transposed with the common. You can switch the wires two times or less and come up with the correct wiring.
 
  #4  
Old 03-07-16, 04:14 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Hi Ray, it is a Leviton Model # R62-06674-P0W. How do I find out if it requires a slave? and what is a slave switch and where would it need to be installed?
 
  #5  
Old 03-07-16, 06:08 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,286
Just to clarify..... you have four switches controlling those lights ?
That would mean you have 2) three way switches and 2) four way switches.

Here's the link to the instructions...leviton/servlet/download/6674-P.pdf


Name:  6674.JPG
Views: 2786
Size:  30.8 KB

You will need to determine if the common wire at the dimmer location is always live power or is the lighting load.
 
  #6  
Old 03-07-16, 06:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Thanks all....I fixed it! your right pcboss....the traveler was transposed with the common. swapped them and it all works fine. lesson learned...black wire ISN'T always the common/hot!!!
 
  #7  
Old 03-07-16, 06:50 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,286
Great news..... good job.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes