Issue when replacing dimmer on 3-way switch settup


  #1  
Old 03-07-16, 01:15 PM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Issue when replacing dimmer on 3-way switch settup

Hi, so I have an odd situation and I am looking for some guidance on. I was replacing an existing dimmer switch that controls 4 flood lights in my 2nd floor hallway. The dimmer switch is located on the second floor, it is an older style round nob dimmer that had a backlight (dimmer would have a slight orange back-light when the hall lights were off). There is a second 3-way switch at the other end of the 2nd floor hall. On the first floor, there are two 3-way switches that also control these second floor lights. Before I replaced the dimmer switch, you could turn the lights off/on by activating any of the 4 switches. I purchased a new leviton 3-way capable dimmer, and I installed it by re-wiring exactly the way the old dimmer was wired. Everything seems to work, including being able to dim the lights...HOWEVER, if the dimmer switch is off, I now cannot turn the lights on from any of the other three switches. Before I replaced the old dimmer, even if the dimmer switch was off (and the backlight was glowing), we could flip any of the other 3 switches and the lights would turn on. Any suggestions????
 
  #2  
Old 03-07-16, 01:49 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,581
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
I installed it by re-wiring exactly the way the old dimmer was wired.
That isn't always the correct way. Position or color of common can vary. You can't use the old switch as a guide except to determine which house wire is common. A second factor is some 3-way dimmers will only work with slaves not regular 3-way or 4-way switches. What is the make and model number of the new switch?
 
  #3  
Old 03-07-16, 03:10 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,259
Received 114 Votes on 99 Posts
You have a traveler transposed with the common. You can switch the wires two times or less and come up with the correct wiring.
 
  #4  
Old 03-07-16, 03:14 PM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi Ray, it is a Leviton Model # R62-06674-P0W. How do I find out if it requires a slave? and what is a slave switch and where would it need to be installed?
 
  #5  
Old 03-07-16, 05:08 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,685
Received 1,614 Votes on 1,486 Posts
Just to clarify..... you have four switches controlling those lights ?
That would mean you have 2) three way switches and 2) four way switches.

Here's the link to the instructions...leviton/servlet/download/6674-P.pdf


Name:  6674.JPG
Views: 9930
Size:  30.8 KB

You will need to determine if the common wire at the dimmer location is always live power or is the lighting load.
 
  #6  
Old 03-07-16, 05:19 PM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks all....I fixed it! your right pcboss....the traveler was transposed with the common. swapped them and it all works fine. lesson learned...black wire ISN'T always the common/hot!!!
 
  #7  
Old 03-07-16, 05:50 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,685
Received 1,614 Votes on 1,486 Posts
Great news..... good job.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: