use 120V plug for 240V

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-08-16, 03:59 PM
9
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 132
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
use 120V plug for 240V

Hello everyone,

I accidentally installed a 120 V female plug when it should have been a 240V female plug. I was in a rush. I had to connect the equipment asap and I couldn't shut the power off to work on it so I had to improvise and so I made my own transition piece. I put on a 120 v male plug that goes to a 240V female plug and plugged this transition piece in the 120V female plug that I accidentally installed. I was concerned that perhaps the 240V going through the 120V listed plug might be an issue but I noticed that the equipment used to assemble the plugs are exactly the same. The screws and everything used is the same. The only thing different is the plug style. The only difference is the 120V looks like this "| -" while the 240V looks like this "- -". Is this fine.

Mike.
 
  #2  
Old 03-08-16, 04:09 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,224
Received 105 Votes on 91 Posts
The configuration is different to prevent someone plugging something into the wrong voltage. You should change to the correct parts.
 
  #3  
Old 03-08-16, 04:15 PM
9
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 132
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I understand that the configuration is different for the reason you gave. I will change to the correct part when I can shut off that circuit. But can I operate it for now and it will be fine?

Thank you
 
  #4  
Old 03-08-16, 04:21 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,965
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
It will depend on who has access to it and who understands what you did. In the meantime, don't unplug the apparatus and tape over the plug to the wall to ensure it is not unplugged and a 120 volt apparatus is installed. You should do the modification as soon as you can. Forgetting to do so could be a severe problem to equipment and personnel.
 
  #5  
Old 03-08-16, 04:31 PM
L
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,555
Received 93 Votes on 81 Posts
Your equipment will work fine and no fire hazard.
Only issue is someone may plug 120V equipment on it and damage the equipment or cause fire.
Clear mark the plug as 240V until you can replace them. Especially if someone else has access to the area.

I once fried my equipment because someone used 120V power strip to plug bunch of power adapters for ethernet switches on the server rack, but the power strip was getting 208V.
Power adapters for network switches work fine because they can accept up to 250V, but just have 120V plugs.
I didn't know that and plugged 120V only equipment and fried.
 
  #6  
Old 03-08-16, 04:41 PM
9
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 132
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hello everyone,


The connection already has a bunch of black gorilla tape on it so that nobody unplugs the transition piece. But perhaps I should label it as well.

Thanks a bunch.
 
  #7  
Old 03-08-16, 04:48 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,806
Received 253 Votes on 221 Posts
connection already has a bunch of black gorilla tape
What connection? I hope you are not using tape over the wirenuts.
 
  #8  
Old 03-08-16, 05:15 PM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 10,165
Received 44 Votes on 42 Posts
Exclamation What you are doing is wrong.

It sounds like you are working in a commercial setting without the necessary electrician's license or qualification.
Regardless of how you try to prevent an accident you are risking the safety of someone who may not know better.
 
  #9  
Old 03-08-16, 05:54 PM
9
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 132
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Chandler suggested the tape Tolyn Ironhand. I just informed him that I already did that. His suggestion wasn't for wire nuts. As for as access, the area is not accessible to anybody else so I would be the only one to go there. I appreciate the concerns and like I stated I will correct this as soon as I can shut off the circuit.

Thanks again
 
  #10  
Old 03-09-16, 10:24 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,763
Received 97 Votes on 87 Posts
I accidentally installed a 120 V female plug when it should have been a 240V female plug.
What exactly is a female plug? A plug is a male cord cap. Is this a new transgendered device?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: