Moving/Pulling Doorbell Wire

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-16-16, 04:07 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 29
Moving/Pulling Doorbell Wire

I think this is the right spot for this question...

So I'm installing a Ring video doorbell and it can't really fit where my older doorbell was. I don't know how they pulled the wire through the door frame like that for the old doorbell. Is that common?

Name:  2016-03-16 17.01.15B.jpg
Views: 2403
Size:  27.0 KB

What will be the best way to get access to the current wire and move it through the wall to the spot marked above the mailbox? I'm guessing I'll need to take the door frame apart.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-16-16, 04:52 PM
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,986
Where is the transformer? Try to trace it backwards.
 
  #3  
Old 03-16-16, 05:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 29
I did that as best I could. I suppose that info might be helpful, huh?

The basement is finished on that side of the house, so I couldn't trace the wire from there without cutting into the finished drywall ceiling. The transformer is (improperly? I thought I read these shouldn't be attached there.) attached to the junction box and the wires go up into the floor joists and I couldn't find them from there.

That's why I was hoping to be able to just move/use the existing circuit where I want it.
 
  #4  
Old 03-16-16, 05:08 PM
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,986
The wiring may have been done before the door was installed. You can abandon all of it & install everything new. That might me the way to go.
 
  #5  
Old 03-16-16, 05:11 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,055
I thought I read these shouldn't be attached there.) attached to the junction box and the wires go up into the floor joists
Standard method.

Weird looking door trim. Is there a storm door? I'd remove the trim whatever it is. That may give you access to the wall cavity. Once you have access the wire can be spliced in the wall cavity.
 
  #6  
Old 03-16-16, 05:17 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 29
Yeah there is a storm door, too. Poorly installed... Perhaps this is a chance to fix that as well!
 
  #7  
Old 03-16-16, 06:18 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,055
Odd with that type of siding here you would see 1x4s for the door trim and the storm door on top of it.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes