Parallel switch/receptacle wiring help

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-22-16, 01:07 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 141
Parallel switch/receptacle wiring help

Hello!

I知 installing a light fixture and a receptacle, both switched, from one power source. I知 pretty sure I got the wiring correct, but am having a few issues-



Name:  Wiring.jpg
Views: 259
Size:  13.6 KB


When testing the lines after i turned the breaker on, this happened


Name:  IMG_7604.jpg
Views: 160
Size:  26.4 KB

Sparks flew, but the breaker did not flip. Did this happen because i made contact with the metal plate? Why didn稚 the breaker flip? It is grounded properly, right? I知 usually very careful when dealing with electricity, but when these things happen, tends to shake one痴 confidence.

Oh, and do you think my lil tester is gonna be ok?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-22-16, 01:44 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,439
Your diagram is correct.

It looks like your probe shorted from hot to ground. Your meter should still be ok.
 
  #3  
Old 03-22-16, 01:53 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 141
Admittedly, I'm quite the novice when it comes to electrical currents. Why didn't the breaker trip?
 
  #4  
Old 03-22-16, 02:13 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,292
Breakers aren't all that precise. It takes a very large current spike or a long overload to cause a trip. Your quick spark didn't draw enough to exceed the trip threshold.

 
  #5  
Old 03-22-16, 03:42 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,439
These things do happen. Don't get us electricians started or the stories will fly.
 
  #6  
Old 03-22-16, 05:12 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,979
Don't get us electricians started or the stories will fly.
Ooo!...I got one! How about that time I smoked a relay because I caused a short circuit on the load side of the relay. Oops. Yeah, stuff happens. My brother did the same thing with the probe of a meter. Bad thing was, it was my meter.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'