All basement lights on one circuit

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-23-16, 04:57 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 10
All basement lights on one circuit

i am finishing my basement. It was already started somewhat. As of now all of the lights are on one circuit. There are no outlets yet. I'm getting ready to install them so I can drywall. Should I just run new circuits for the outlets or run outlets and lights together in each area. Not sure of the pros and cons of either way
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-23-16, 05:06 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,138
It's usually preferred to have lights in a room on different circuit than the outlets in the room. Thinking is that if you plug something in and pop the breaker, the lights don't go out too.

Often a single 15 amp circuit is used for all the lighting in the basement, and then one or more 20 amp circuits for the receptacles, depending on anticipated use and need.
 
  #3  
Old 03-23-16, 05:08 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,594
I would run a separate circuit , or circuits for the receptacles. It would depend on the expected usage and loads.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes