Weird GFCI occurence

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-24-16, 01:15 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 592
Weird GFCI occurence

My grandfather had some GFCI's replaced. 3 outlets on 3 different circuits. Worked fine for weeks then woke up to them showing red light instead of green. They all still had 120 volts but would not trip/reset as tested with a small gfci outlet test and manually with the buttons on the device.

He went to the breaker box and reset the 3 circuits and when powered back on all 3 outlets works as they should.. showed green and the test/reset worked fine.

Other GFCI's in the house were not effected.

The one that were replaced were cheap GFCI's but how can
all 3 (on different circuits) all do this at once? Whats the bigger issue?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-24-16, 01:53 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,277
Are these new GFCI devices the newer self test ones?
 
  #3  
Old 03-24-16, 02:32 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 592
I am almost sure that they are the new "self test".

But keep in mind, this happened at the same time on THREE DIFFERENT CIRCUITS.

Which has me thinking there is some sort of neutral issue on one or both legs of the service? If that is even a valid concern here.

These are also dead ended/pigtailed outlets... 2 of which only feeds thru to one other outlet in the same box.

I sure would appreciate any troubleshooting or help here. Thank you.
 
  #4  
Old 03-24-16, 02:50 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,102
I don't think a neutral problem before the GFI's will cause that problem.

Can you supply us the make and model of what was used ?
Maybe they do respond to a loss of power.
 
  #5  
Old 03-24-16, 02:55 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 592
They were cheapo Smart Electrician 15A GFCI's that Menards supplies.

Keep in mind they were showing red. The trip/reset manual button wasn't working but they still had power. Breaker was then switched off and on and the lights turned green and the test/rest function also worked as they should.

Ide be inclined to blame a cheap gfci if this was on the same circuit. But this is 3 separate circuits!!
 
  #6  
Old 03-24-16, 05:30 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,102
That is not a problem I've seen before but if it were me..... I'd take them back. I wouldn't feel very safe using a GFI that wouldn't trip.

Leviton has a self testing model but the one you have doesn't follow the Leviton protocol.

Can't find any info on those receptacles.... menards/main/p-1444452544318.htm
Don't see any mention of self testing in the description.
 
  #7  
Old 03-24-16, 06:47 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 592
They do trip though, after the breaker was reset all 3 (on different circuits) worked as they should.

Something effected all 3... which is why I was asking about the loose neutral or something. Maybe some sort of other grounding issue?

Must be a freakish occurrence if I stumped this forum!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes