Precautions to take when working with AC mains

Old 03-24-16, 02:49 PM
J
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Precautions to take when working with AC mains

Hello, I am relatively new to playing around with circuits, and I have started a circuit build on a small 12V amplifier which naturally requires a plugin from the AC mains of the house. I feel confident with wiring the circuit, it is not very complex; i do want to make sure though that I am not looking over any safety precautions besides the obvious when I am building the circuit (specifically the power supply unit). Also, is there any way I could damage the internal wiring of the house when using an AC/DC power supply? Thanks for any input, I am trying to be as safe as possible

Old 03-24-16, 03:24 PM
C
Received 169 Upvotes on 137 Posts
One thing you can do to protect yourself a little is to make sure the AC circuit you connect to if protected by a GFCI. You can even buy extension cords equipped with one in case there isn't one handy where you are working. This will protect you from being shocked should you accidently touch one of the live AC wires.

Always have an inline fuse in the AC part of the circuit, and use the smallest fuse you can based on the current the circuit will draw. If there is a metal case involved, make sure it is connected to the ground wire coming from the AC cord.

Not really anything you can do that would permanently damage your house wiring. The house circuit breaker's job is to prevent that. Good luck and have fun!

Old 03-24-16, 03:25 PM
Group Moderator
Received 3,951 Upvotes on 3,544 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

I started building circuits when I was around 10.
I blew up many 120v electronic items in the interest of learning.