Tripping AFCI Breaker

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-25-16, 10:49 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Tripping AFCI Breaker

I remodeled my bedroom to the studs and rewired the room. I have a can light on a 15 amp AFCI. There are also 4 plugins, one being a GFCI, with nothing plugged in. When I turned the breaker on, it tripped. I have tried different switches, unplugged the can light, unwired the plugins from the circuit and ran a new wire from the switch that controls the can light. I had only the can light on the circuit and the breaker tripped when I flipped the switch. I have gotten to the troubleshooting point of wiring the switch directly to the breaker but it still trips when the switch is flipped.

I am in Montana and am very comfortable with electrical work but very frustrated at this point.
 
  #2  
Old 03-25-16, 11:27 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,761
Received 1,321 Votes on 1,221 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

When dealing with arc fault breakers..... the neutral wire cannot touch ground. If you have a meter...... with the lighting circuit disconnected from the panel..... check from white to ground. There should be no continuity measured.

With newer NM-b cable the jacket and insulation is much thinner then in the past. A staple squishing the insulation can also cause an issue.
 
  #3  
Old 03-26-16, 08:04 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Zero continuity measured with digital tester. The lighted switch is lit when breaker is turned on but breaker trips when switch is flipped. Switch is wired direct to the breaker.
 
  #4  
Old 03-26-16, 08:21 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,794
Received 252 Votes on 220 Posts
How is the switch wired direct to the breaker? Is it the lighted one?
 
  #5  
Old 03-26-16, 09:13 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have removed all switches and receptacles from the circuit. The switch is wired directly to the wire coming from the breaker, white to white, black to black, ground to ground, no light in the middle. I have wired two other AFCI breakers that are working fine on other circuits.
 
  #6  
Old 03-26-16, 09:17 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,761
Received 1,321 Votes on 1,221 Posts
Some lighted switches use ground for the light. If yours does.... that's a problem.
 
  #7  
Old 03-26-16, 09:21 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,794
Received 252 Votes on 220 Posts
Normally switches are not connected to the neutral wire. I suspect the lighted switch is your issue.
 
  #8  
Old 03-26-16, 09:23 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I disconnected the ground with the same result.
 
  #9  
Old 03-26-16, 09:26 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have tried 3 different switches.
 
  #10  
Old 03-26-16, 10:33 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I took the switch and a wire (new wire still coiled) over to the breaker box and wired it directly, bypassing the walls. I tried a lighted and a non-lighted switch and same result, trip. I removed a non AFCI 15 amp breaker from another circuit and wired it to light and non-lighted switch and both switches tripped the breaker.??????????

Breaker Box- Black to the breaker, white to the neutral bar and ground to the ground bar.
Switch- Black to screw, white to screw (both screws same color), ground to green screw.
 
  #11  
Old 03-26-16, 10:37 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Switch- Black to screw, white to screw (both screws same color), ground to green screw.
Which creates a dead short and will cause any breaker to trip. That is not how a switch is wired. The whites are wire nutted together and the blacks only connected to the switch.

Name:  x_zpsf2797b23.jpg
Views: 75
Size:  14.6 KB
 
  #12  
Old 03-26-16, 11:03 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
WOW! I sure feel like an idiot. Wiring 101. Why did this not click before. Problem solved. THANK YOU!
 
  #13  
Old 03-26-16, 11:16 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
All of us here have had our light bulb moments, maybe not that one but one for sure.
 
  #14  
Old 03-26-16, 12:22 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,754
Received 97 Votes on 87 Posts
I remodeled my bedroom to the studs and rewired the room. I have a can light on a 15 amp AFCI. There are also 4 plugins, one being a GFCI, with nothing plugged in.
Just curious, but why would you want a GFCI receptacle in a bedroom?
 
  #15  
Old 03-26-16, 01:21 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,794
Received 252 Votes on 220 Posts
Switch- Black to screw, white to screw (both screws same color), ground to green screw.
You are also referring to a 3 way switch (has 3 terminal screws and the ground screw) You should only need a single pole switch as shown in Ray's picture.
 
  #16  
Old 03-26-16, 01:50 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
This did not click until Ray2047 shared the pic. I wasn't thinking neutral=white. Thanks.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: